LSF Annual Gala

LEARNING FOR A SUSTAINABLE FUTURE HOSTS THE 16TH ANNUAL STATE OF EDUCATION FOR SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT GALA  

On Thursday, June 14, 2018 Learning for a Sustainable Future (LSF), with support from 3M Canada, hosted our 16th Annual State of Education for Sustainable Development Gala at the Arcadian Loft in Toronto. Over 90 business and community leaders, educators, students, LSF Board members and staff joined together to celebrate a year of achievements in education for sustainable development. This year's Gala focused on the scope and complexity of climate change and how the energy, creativity and power of youth can help us take on this challenge.  All proceeds from the Gala will help support LSF in "empowering our children to change the world". Thank you to our partners, sponsors and sustainability champions for your support! 

Gala guests

LSF Chair Susan Langley provides a welcoming address to gala guests

LSF President and CEO Pamela Schwartzberg welcomes guests and shares a short video on LSF:

Hon. Elizabeth Dowdeswell

The Honourable Elizabeth Dowdeswell addressing gala guests

Jason Grouette, Executive Sponsor for Sustainability at 3M Canada and Director of 3M’s Energy and Electronics Business welcomes guests and shares 3M's commitment to sustainability 

George Marshall - Climate Outreach

George Marshall, Co-Founder of Climate Outreach  in the UK  shares his findings on communicating climate change.  “It’s is important to allow for conversations for students to discuss climate change...We need to provide youth with the space to talk and ask questions!” 

High school student & climate activist Niara Van Gaalen speaking to Gala guests: “We are in this together on a little planet called earth...Opposition is powerful and apathy is rampant..& both young and old must contribute to finding a solution"

Guelph's Kortright Hills Public School grade 6 students Sara & Jessie and their teacher Cathy Dykstra share their sustainability journey and action projects, including attending the Ecoleague Youth Forum, hosting a vegan bake sale, becoming a bee friendly school, and initiating a water action project (Click to view presentation)

Susan Langley, Chair of LSF presents Kortright Hills Public School with the First Place Award for the LSF's Jack Layton Award for Youth Action in Sustainability

Giuliana Minardi, LSF Board Member and Senior Vice President, Operational Risk, Group Risk Management, RBC Capital Markets, talks about RBC's commitment to LSF and Our Canada Project through their Future Launch program. She introduces the following video from Mission Secondary School in Kelowna, British Columbia where students, Angelica, Lauren, Skye and Summer introduce their Mission Roots Cafe project:

Giuliana then surprises the students by announcing that they are the winners of the 2017-2018 LSF-RBC Our Canada Project Award! (Click to view presentation)

Staff and students from Espanola High School showcases their amazing EcoLeague Project below. Thank you Domtar for your support of the project:

Thank you to our sponsor, 3M Canada, and our generous supporters, BMO Financial Group, RBC, Glencore, Bullfrog Power, Compass Group and Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario for making this event possible:

For further information please contact Elaine at elaine@lsf-lst.ca or call 1 877 250 8202 or 416 327 2032.

Latest Resource

Connecting the dots

Key Strategies that Transform Learning
From Environmental Education to Citizenship and Sustainability

Newsletter Sign-up

Register for Professional Development

Information and resources on the important topics affecting our world today.

Galas annuels de LST

L’ÉDUCATION AU SERVICE DE LA TERRE TIENT SON 16e GALA ANNUEL SUR L’ÉTAT DE L’ÉDUCATION AU DÉVELOPPEMENT DURABLE   

 Le jeudi 14 juin 2018, L’éducation au service de la Terre (LST), avec le soutien de 3M Canada, a tenu son 16e Gala annuel sur l’état de l’éducation au développement durable au Arcadian Loft, à Toronto. Plus de 90 gens d’affaires, leaders communautaires, éducateurs, élèves, et membres du conseil et du personnel de LST se sont réunis pour souligner une année de réalisations en matière d’éducation au développement durable. Cette année, le Gala s’est penché sur la portée et la complexité du changement climatique et sur la façon dont l’énergie, la créativité et le pouvoir des jeunes peut nous aider à relever ce défi.  Tous les produits du Gala aideront LST  à « autonomiser les enfants pour changer le monde! ». Merci à tous nos partenaires, commanditaires et champions du développement durable pour leur appui! 

Invités du gala

La présidente du conseil de LST, Susan Langley, prononce une allocution de bienvenue à l’intention des invités

Pamela Schwartzberg, présidente et chef de la direction de LST, accueille les invités et diffuse une courte vidéo sur LST (en anglais):

Hon. Elizabeth Dowdeswell

L’honorable Elizabeth Dowdeswell s’adresse aux invités

Jason Grouette, cadre responsable de la durabilité chez 3M Canada et directeur du secteur de l’énergie et de l’électronique de l’entreprise, accueille les invités et leur fait part de l‘engagement de 3M envers le développement durable 

George Marshall - Climate Outreach

George Marshall, co-fondateur de Climate Outreach  au R.-U., partage ses conclusions à l’égard des communications entourant le changement climatique :  « C’est important de permettre aux élèves d’avoir des conversations sur le changement climatique...Nous devons fournir aux jeunes un espace pour parler et poser des questions! »

Niara Van Gaalen, étudiante au secondaire et militante pour la lutte contre le changement climatique, s’adresse aux invités : « Nous sommes tous ici ensemble sur Terre...l’opposition est puissante et l’apathie est répandue… nous devons tous, jeunes et moins jeunes, collaborer pour trouver une solution »

Sara et Jessie, élèves de 6e année à l’école publique Kortright Hills de Guelph, et leur enseignante, Cathy Dykstra, partagent leur parcours vers la viabilité écologique et leurs projets d’action, dont leur participation au Forum Jeunesse de la Ligue Écolo, l’organisation d’une vente de pâtisseries végétaliennes, les efforts déployés pour devenir un école favorable aux abeilles et le lancement d’un projet d’action axé sur l’eau  (cliquez ici pour voir la présentation)

Susan Langley, présidente du conseil de LST, présente à l’école publique Kortright Hills le Prix Jack Layton de la jeunesse pour le développement durable de LST

Giuliana Minardi, membre du conseil de LST et vice-présidente principale, risque opérationnel, gestion de risques de groupe, RBC Marché des capitaux, parle de l’engagement de RBC envers LST et le Projet Notre Canada par l’intermédiaire du programme Objectif avenir de l’entreprise. Elle présente la vidéo suivante de l’école secondaire Mission, à Kelowna, en Colombie-Britannique, dans lequel les élèves Angelica, Lauren, Skye et Summer présentent le projet Mission Roots Cafe :

Giuliana surprend ensuite les élèves en leur annonçant que l’école a remporté le Prix Projet Notre Canada LST-RBC LSF-RBC 2017-2018! (Cliquez pour voir la présentation)

Le personnel et les élèves de l’école secondaire Espanola présentent leur fantastique projet de la Ligue Écolo. Merci à Domtar de son appui :

Merci à notre commanditaire, 3M Canada, et à nos généreux donateurs, BMO Groupe financier, RBC, Glencore, Bullfrog Power, Compass Group et la Fédération des enseignantes et enseignants de l’élémentaire de l’Ontario, pour nous avoir aidé à présenter cet événement :

For further information please contact Elaine at elaine@lsf-lst.ca or call 1 877 250 8202 or 416 327 2032.

Nouvel outil

Relier les points

Principales stratégies qui transforment l’apprentissage
pour l’éducation environnementale, la citoyenneté et la durabilité

S'inscrire au bulletin

S'inscrire à un atelier de développement professionnel

Informations et ressources sur les sujets importants qui touchent notre monde d'aujourd'hui.