Staff and Consultants

In addition to the staff members, LSF employs consultants from across Canada who give workshops, perform studies, conduct research, and translate LSF's documents.

Staff

Pamela Schwartzberg

pam@lsf-lst.ca

President and CEO

Pamela has over 30 years of progressive experience in strategic planning, policy development, project management, research and writing. She served as Ontario Program Director for Learning for a Sustainable Future (LSF) from 1995- 2002 coordinating research, policy development, teacher training and curriculum materials development. As of December 2002, Pamela has served as National Executive Director of Learning for a Sustainable Future. Her prior positions include: Coordinator of the Ontario Premier's Council; Manager of Policy and Programs for the Ontario Round Table on Environment and Economy; Education Program Officer for the Ontario Ministry of Energy; and Energy Manager, Planning and Development Department for the City Of Brampton. Pamela has a Masters in Environmental Studies from York University.

Elaine Rubinoff

elaine@lsf-lst.ca

Director of Programs and Administration

Elaine Rubinoff has worked for Learning for a Sustainable Future since 1995. She began as Program Manager providing partnership development and project management until 2002 at which time she assumed the role of Director of Programs and Administration. Elaine’s prior positions include: Administrative Assistant in the Legal and Commodities Departments at George Weston Limited; Registered Sales Representative at Richardson Greenshields; Aboriginal Parole Officer with the Toronto Parole Board. Elaine is a graduate of York University.

Joanne Huy

joanne@lsf-lst.ca

Project Coordinator

Joanne Huy is a Bachelor of Environmental Studies graduate from York University, specializing in Environmental Management, in addition with a Sustainable Energy certificate. Her past involvement includes: elected undergraduate representation for BES Students for the York Federation of Students, President, Vice-President Finance and Asst. Dir. Of Finance of Founders College Student Council. She endeavours to explore sustainability issues and challenges in 21st century education and to promote student leadership and youth empowerment.

Sam Gawron

samantha@lsf-lst.ca

Project Coordinator

Sam Gawron is a graduate of the Environment, Sustainability & Society and International Development programs at Dalhousie University and the University of King's College. She has a special interest in food & agriculture systems and global health. Sam's past experience includes work with the Riverdale Immigrant Women's Centre on their social enterprise cafe, engagement of elementary school children in issues surrounding healthy and sustainable eating, a consulting position with the Marine Stewardship Council, and participation in various multidisciplinary environmental education programs such as the Upper Grand District's "Headwaters" program. 

Consultants

Annette Dubreuil

annette@lsf-lst.ca

Marketing, Communications and Development

Annette Dubreuil is a Master of Business Administration graduate from the Schulich School of Business at York University, where she specialized in Business and Sustainability, as well as strategy and nonprofits. She also holds a Bachelor of Science from the University of Waterloo, specializing in environmental science and business. While at Schulich, she was the editor of the Sustainable Enterprise Brief, a quarterly publication produced by the Sustainable Enterprise Academy and Net Impact for senior executives in business, government and civil society. Annette endeavours to help organizations become more sustainable.

Chris Porter

chris@lsf-lst.ca


Curriculum Specialist

Chris retired from teaching in 2006 after 32 years as a teacher and principal. Most of that time was spent at Tantramar Regional High School in Sackville, New Brunswick where he helped establish The Tantramar Wetlands Centre, well-known nationally for its innovative approach to environmental education. He has served on provincial curriculum committees, led regional workshops for science teachers and in recent years has spoken to public audiences across Canada about the value of experiential approaches to teaching. Since retiring from the public school system, Chris has held part-time positions with St. Thomas University’s Faculty of Education and Mount Allison University’s Coastal Wetlands Institute.  In addition to managing Resources for Rethinking, he continues to enjoy working directly with teachers through his involvement with LSF and the Tantramar Wetlands Centre.

 Janice Haines

 Grade 4 Teacher and Specialist in Community Engagement

 
Janice provides leadership in developing community partners to meet learning objectives.

 Jim Petrie

Atlantic Provinces, Curriculum Specialist

Jim has spent 26 years in the public school system as a teacher and department head. Since leaving the classroom he has served as Director of the New Brunswick Global Education Project, New Brunswick Director of Project WET (Water Education for Teachers), Consultant for CRB Heritage Project, Consultant for the Global Classroom Initiative (GCI), Consultant for Learning for a Sustainable Future (LSF), Assessor for the Canadian Heritage Program, Lecturer in UNB Faculty of Education and Chair of UNICEF New Brunswick. Jim has contributed to curriculum development in both New Brunswick and the Atlantic Provinces and has helped shape much of the social studies curriculum provincially and regionally. He has participated in a number of study groups including the Holocaust and Hope Study Tour of Germany, Poland, and Israel, the Keizai Koho Study Tour of Japan, the NATO Study Tour of France and Belgium, the United States Peace Institute in Washington and the International Development and Research Council Costa Rica Study Tour. 

 Pamela Gibson

Workshop Leader

Pamela provides her extensive experience in finding learning opportunities in the community and mentoring teachers in-class while they work with their students.

 Stan Kozak

skozak@lsf-lst.ca

Learning Innovation Consultant

Stan’s experience in the formal learning system includes teaching at most grade levels, Board of Education Curriculum Consultant in Science and Environmental Issues, and Education Officer at the Ontario Ministry of Education, Curriculum and Policy Branch.  Since 1997 he has provided independent consultative support to a wide range of organizations.  Working in association with LSF for many years, he currently provides support in curriculum, policy and professional development.  He is co-author of Connecting the Dots: Key Learning Strategies for Environmental Education, Citizenship and Sustainability, and project leader on many of LSF’s Key themes in sustainability initiatives.

Susan Elliot

Institute Facilitator

Susan is the Executive Director of the Learning Forum at Toronto French School. She has a B.Sc from the University of WAterloo, an M.A. in English from the University of Toronto and a Ph. D. from the University of London Institute of Education (United Kingdom), where her research focused on Assessment and Teacher Reflective Practices. Susan worked as Middle Years Coordinator of the Wernham West Centre for Learning at Upper Canada College in Toronto, developing the program from its inception. She provided academic support in learning strategies and best practices in experiential learning. She continues to write and present as a consultant for Learning for a Sustainable Future.

Susan de la Riva

delariva@sympatico.ca

Institute Facilitator

Susan de la Riva has taught for the past 20 years mostly at the post-secondary level. Susan is a graduate of Laurentian University in Sudbury and holds a Bachelor of Education degree from Nipissing University in North Bay. She is currently completing a Master of Education degree where her thesis will focus on the single gender learning experiences. For the past few years, she has presented environmental education workshops to students and teachers at the elementary and secondary levels in the Sudbury area. Working for both The Dearness Environmental Society and for Learning for a Sustainable Future, Susan delivers workshops to school assemblies, classrooms and one-on-one teacher consultations.

Andrea Russel 

Institute Facilitator

Andrea Russell's pursuit of inquiry based environmental education began when she taught Grade 1/2 at a private school in Huntsville, ON. She immediately saw the change in her students when they went outside to learn, and it amazed her how much learning she was doing alongside her students when they experienced outdoor pursuits together. Upon moving back to Toronto, she spent four years working at the Dr. Eric Jackman Institute of Child Study as Project Lead for the teacher resource Natural Curiosity. During that time Andrea worked in partnership with Learning for a Sustainable Future and met educators from across Ontario who inspired her with their enthusiasm and passion for inquiry based environmental education. Eager to get back into the classroom to work directly with students, Andrea left Natural Curiosity and is pursuing her career back in the classroom. She is currently teaching Grade 1 at a private school in downtown Toronto.

Tanya Murray

 Institute Facilitator

Tanya is an avid outdoors-person who is passionate about developing nature connections for learners of all ages.  Qualified and experienced in 3 divisions (Primary, Junior, Intermediate), Tanya loves to learn alongside others in both conventional and alternative environments. She recently completed a Regional Term Position at Sibbald Point Outdoor Education Centre and led a Ministry Pilot focused on Environmental Inquiry. 

She is a certified Outdoor Council of Canada Instructor and is currently working toward her Level 3 Forest School Practitioners Certification. Prior to classroom teaching, Tanya worked in the outdoor education field as a wilderness guide, adventure education facilitator, and spent 5 years at an independent school servicing vulnerable Toronto youth.  She is a graduate of Kinesiology from McMaster University and holds a Bachelor of Education degree from The University of Toronto.  

Judy Halpern

Institute Facilitator

Judy Halpern, (MEd.) a qualified teacher of more than 25 years, created The Magic Suitcase: a literature-based Environmental Education program, in 1996.  Her research involved using picture books to teach content, specifically in the area of science. Judy teaches pre-service teacher candidates at the Faculty of Education at Wilfrid Laurier University and is a workshop presenter on inquiry-based learning. Her other experiences include: storytelling; teaching elementary to high school students; speaking at a host of conferences, leading cultural and educational tours to Nepal and writing and publishing teaching materials for young children. A walk in the woods, sharing wonderful books, fuels her passion for the importance of environmental education and her own natural curiosity.

 

Régis Boucher

Institute Facilitator

Latest Resource

Connecting the dots

Key Strategies that Transform Learning
From Environmental Education to Citizenship and Sustainability

Newsletter Sign-up

Register for Professional Development

Information and resources on the important topics affecting our world today.

Personnel et consultants

Outre le personnel permanent, LST emploie des consultantes et consultants de partout au Canada pour donner des ateliers, réaliser des études, faire des recherches et traduire ses documents.

Personnel

Pamela Schwartzberg

pam@lsf-lst.ca

Présidente et chef de la direction

Pamela possède plus de 30 ans d’expérience progressive dans la planification stratégique, l’élaboration de politiques, la gestion de projets, les recherches et la rédaction. De 1995 à 2002, elle a été directrice des programmes de l’Ontario pour le compte de L’Éducation au service de la Terre (LST), poste qui consistait à coordonner les recherches, l’élaboration de politiques, la formation des enseignants et la création des documents pédagogiques. En décembre 2002, elle a été nommée directrice générale nationale de LST. Avant cela, elle a été coordonnatrice auprès du Conseil du premier ministre; gestionnaire des politiques et des programmes pour la Table ronde de l’Ontario pour l’environnement et l’économie; agente de programme d’enseignement auprès du ministère de l’Énergie de l’Ontario; et gestionnaire de la planification et du développement énergétique pour la ville de Brampton. Pamela détient une maîtrise en études environnementales de l’Université York.

Elaine Rubinoff

elaine@lsf-lst.ca

Directrice des programmes et de l’administration

Elaine Rubinoff travaille pour le compte de LST depuis 1995. Elle a été gestionnaire de programmes, poste qui consistait à gérer les programmes et le développement des partenariats, jusqu’en 2002. C’est alors qu’elle a assumé le rôle de directrice des programmes et de l’administration. Parmi ses postes antérieurs, citons les suivants : adjointe administrative auprès du Service juridique et du Service des produits de base de George Weston Limited; représentante autorisée auprès de Richardson Greenshields; agent de libération conditionnelle auprès des autochtones à la commission des libérations conditionnelles de Toronto. Elaine est diplômée de l’Université York

Joanne Huy

joanne@lsf-lst.ca

 

Coordinatrice de projets

Joanne Huy détient un baccalauréat en études environnementales de l’Université York, spécialisé dans la gestion environnementale; elle possède aussi un certificat en énergie durable. Auparavant, elle a été élue représentante des étudiants de premier cycle en études environnementales auprès de la Fédération des étudiants de York; et présidente, vice-présidente des finances et directrice adjointe des finances du Conseil des étudiants du Founders College. Elle vise à explorer les enjeux et défis en matière de développement durable pour l’enseignement du 21e siècle et à favoriser le leadership et l’autonomisation des jeunes.

Sam Gawron

samantha@lsf-lst.ca

Coordinatrice de projets

Sam Gawron est diplômée des programmes Environnement, durabilité et société et Développement international de l’Université Dalhousie et du University of King's College. Elle s’intéresse particulièrement aux systèmes d’alimentation et d’agriculture, ainsi qu’à la santé mondiale. Par le passé, elle a œuvré auprès du café des entreprises sociales du Centre des femmes immigrantes de Riverdale, participé à des initiatives visant l’engagement des enfants d’âge élémentaire à l’égard d’enjeux entourant l’alimentation saine et durable, occupé un poste de consultante auprès du Marine Stewardship Council et pris part à divers programmes d’éducation environnementale pluridisciplinaires, tels que le programme « Headwaters » du district de Upper Grand.

Consultant(e)s

Annette Dubreuil

annette@lsf-lst.ca

Marketing, communications et développement

Annette Dubreuil possède une maîtrise en administration des affaires de la Schulich School of Business de l’Université York, où elle s’est spécialisée dans les affaires et le développement durable, ainsi que dans la stratégie et les organismes sans but lucratif. Elle détient aussi un B.Sc. de l’Université de Waterloo, avec spécialisation en sciences environnementales et en affaires. À Schulich, elle était rédactrice en chef du Sustainable Enterprise Brief, publication trimestrielle produite par la Sustainable Enterprise Academy et Net Impact à l’intention des hauts dirigeants dans les domaines des affaires, du gouvernement et de la société civile. Annette vise à aider les organisations à devenir plus viables.

Chris Porter

chris@lsf-lst.ca


 

Spécialiste du curriculum

Chris a pris sa retraite du système d’éducation en 2006 après 32 ans à titre d’enseignant et de directeur. Il a passé la majeure partie de ce temps à l’école secondaire régionale de Tantramar, à Sackville, Nouveau-Brunswick, où il a participé à l’établissement du Centre des terres humides de Tantramar, reconnu nationalement pour son approche novatrice envers l’éducation environnementale. Il a siégé à des comités provinciaux du curriculum, animé des ateliers destinés aux enseignants en sciences et, au cours des dernières années, a prononcé des allocutions à l’étendue du Canada concernant la valeur des approches d’apprentissage expérientielles. Depuis sa retraite, il a occupé des postes à temps partiel auprès de la Faculté d’éducation de l’Université St. Thomas et du Coastal Wetlands Institute de l’Université de Mount Allison.  En plus de gérer Ressources pour repenser, Chris continue de travailler directement auprès des enseignants par l’intermédiaire de sa participation à LST et au Centre des terres humides de Tantramar, ce qui lui plaît énormément.

 

Janice Haines

Enseignante de 4e année et spécialiste en engagement communautaire

Janice apporte ses qualités de chef pour aider les partenaires communautaires à perfectionner leurs compétences afin d’atteindre leurs objectifs d’apprentissage.
 

Jim Petrie

Provinces atlantiques, spécialiste en curriculum

Jim a œuvré auprès du système d’enseignement public pendant 26 ans à titre d’enseignant et de chef de service. Après son départ de la salle de classe, il a été directeur du Projet d’enseignement général du Nouveau-Brunswick, directeur du projet WET (Water Education for Teachers) au Nouveau-Brunswick, consultant auprès du Projet du patrimoine de la fondation CRB, consultant pour le compte de l’Initiative Le monde en classe, consultant pour L'éducation au service de la Terre (LST), évaluateur pour le programme de Patrimoine canadien, chargé de cours à la Faculté d’éducation de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick et président de of UNICEF Nouveau-Brunswick. Jim a participé à l’élaboration du curriculum au Nouveau-Brunswick et dans les provinces de l’Atlantique et contribué à la conception de la majorité du programme d’études sociales à l’échelle provinciale et régionale. Il a pris part à de nombreux groupes d’étude, y compris le Holocaust and Hope Study Tour of Germany, Poland, and Israel, le Keizai Koho Study Tour of Japan, le NATO Study Tour of France and Belgium, le United States Peace Institute in Washington et le International Development and Research Council Costa Rica Study Tour.

 

Pamela Gibson

Animatrice d’atelier

Pamela offre sa vaste expérience pour trouver des occasions d’apprentissage dans la collectivité et offrir un mentorat aux enseignements pendant qu’ils œuvrent auprès de leurs élèves.

 

Stan Kozak

skozak@sentex.net

Spécialiste des politiques, des programmes et du curriculum

Dans le cadre de son expérience au sein du système d’apprentissage formel, Stan a enseigné à la plupart des niveaux, a été consultant au curriculum de sciences et de questions environnementales auprès du conseil d’éducation et a été agent pédagogique auprès de la direction du curriculum et des politiques du ministère de l’Éducation.  Depuis 1997, il offre ses services à titre de consultant indépendant à diverses organisations. Ayant travaillé avec collaboration avec LST depuis de nombreuses années, il lui fournit son appui dans les domaines du curriculum, des politiques et du perfectionnement professionnel. Il a co-rédigé Relier les points : principales stratégies d’apprentissage pour l’éducation environnementale, la citoyenneté et la durabilité, et a dirigé bon nombre de ses initiatives de durabilité.

 

Susan Elliot

 

Animatrice d’atelier

Susan est directrice générale du Forum d’apprentissage à la Toronto French School. Elle possède un B.Sc. de l’Université de Waterloo, une maîtrise en anglais de l’Université de Toronto et un doctorat de l’Institute of Education de l’Université de Londres (Royaume-Uni), où ses recherches se sont concentrées sur les pratiques d’évaluations et de réflexion des enseignants. Susan a travaillé en tant que coordonnatrice des années intermédiaires du Wernham West Centre for Learning du Upper Canada College à Toronto, ayant participé à la conception de ce programme. Elle offre un soutien académique en matière de stratégies d’apprentissage et de pratiques exemplaires liés à l’apprentissage expérientiel. Elle continue de s’adonner à la rédaction et de faire des présentations à titre de consultante auprès de LST.

 

Susan de la Riva

delariva@sympatico.ca

Animatrice d’atelier

Susan de la Riva enseigne depuis les 20 dernières années, surtout au niveau post-secondaire. Diplômée de l’Université Laurentienne de Sudbury, elle détient aussi un baccalauréat en enseignement de l’Université Nipissing à North Bay. Elle est en train de terminer une maîtrise en éducation, dont la thèse porte sur les expériences d’apprentissage non-mixtes. Depuis les dernières années, elle présente des ateliers sur l’éducation environnementale à des élèves et enseignants des niveaux élémentaires et secondaires de la région de Sudbury. Travaillant tant pour la Dearness Environmental Society que pour LST, Susan présente des ateliers à des assemblées scolaires, à des salles de classe et à des enseignants individuels.

Andrea Russel

Animatrice d’atelier

Andrea Russell a commencé à s’intéresser à l’apprentissage environnemental inquisitif lorsqu’elle enseignait la 1re et la 2e année à une école privée de Huntsville, ON. Elle a immédiatement constaté le changement qui s’est opéré chez ses élèves lorsqu’ils sont sortis dehors pour apprendre et a été étonnée de tout ce qu’elle a appris elle-même en compagnie de ses élèves en réalisant des activités extérieures ensemble. Après s’être installée à Toronto, elle a travaillé pendant quatre ans au Dr. Eric Jackman Institute of Child Study à titre de chef de projets pour Curiosité naturelle, ressource destinée aux enseignants. Pendant ce temps, Andrea a travaillé en partenariat avec L’éducation au service de la Terre et rencontré des éducateurs d’un bout à l’autre de l’Ontario qui l’ont inspirée grâce à leur enthousiasme et à leur passion pour l’apprentissage environnemental inquisitif. Désireuse de retourner travailler directement auprès des élèves, Andrea a quitté Curiosité naturelle et poursuit actuellement sa carrière dans la salle de classe. Elle enseigne la 1re année dans une école privée au centre-ville de Toronto.

Tanya Murray

Animatrice d’atelier

Tanya est une adepte du plein air qui est animée d’une passion pour l’établissement de liens avec la nature pour les apprenants de tous les âges.  Qualifiée pour enseigner dans trois divisions (primaire, élémentaire et intermédiaire), elle y possède aussi de l’expérience niveaux et adore apprendre en compagnie des autres, que ce soit dans des environnements conventionnels ou non. Elle a récemment terminé un mandat temporaire au Sibbald Point Outdoor Education Centre et dirigé un projet pilote du ministère axé sur l’apprentissage environnemental inquisitif.

Elle est certifiée à titre d’instructrice auprès du Conseil canadien de plein air et travaille actuellement à l’obtention de la certification de Forest School Practitioner de niveau 3. Avant d’enseigner dans la salle de classe, Tanya a travaillé dans le domaine de l’éducation en plein air à titre de guide et d’animatrice et a œuvré pendant 5 ans dans une école indépendante desservant les jeunes Torontois vulnérables. Elle détient un diplôme en kinésiologie de l’Université McMaster et un B.Ed. de l’Université de Toronto.  

Judy Halpern

Animatrice d’atelier

Judy Halpern, (M.Ed.), enseignante possédant plus de 25 années d’expérience, a créé The Magic Suitcase, programme d’éducation environnementale basée sur la lecture, en 1996.  Ses recherches consistaient à utiliser des livres d’images pour enseigner, plus particulièrement dans le domaine de la science. Judy enseigne à la Faculté d’éducation de l’Université Wilfrid Laurier et présente des ateliers sur l’apprentissage inquisitif. Parmi ses autres expériences, citons celles de raconteuse, d’enseignante au secondaire, de conférencière, de guide-interprète pour des voyages culturels et éducatifs au Népal et de rédactrice de matériel didactique destiné aux jeunes enfants. Les promenades en forêt et le partage de livres animent sa passion pour l’importance de l’éducation environnementale et pour sa propre curiosité naturelle.

Nouvel outil

Relier les points

Principales stratégies qui transforment l’apprentissage
pour l’éducation environnementale, la citoyenneté et la durabilité

S'inscrire au bulletin

S'inscrire à un atelier de développement professionnel

Informations et ressources sur les sujets importants qui touchent notre monde d'aujourd'hui.