Program Areas

An investment in LSF is an investment in a sustainable future, where educating our youth is the key.

Supporting the UN Decade of ESD

2005-2014 is the UN Decade of Education for Sustainable Development (UNDESD). LSF is leading Canada’s response to the Decade through support of a National ESD Expert Council and Provincial/Territorial ESD Working Groups. These networks of public, private and civil society leaders are supporting leadership, innovation, collaboration, research and monitoring to advance ESD within the formal, non-formal and informal education systems across Canada.

Resources for Rethinking (R4R) www.r4r.ca

R4R is a free online database where educators and the general public can search for the highest quality, peer-reviewed, curriculum-matched teaching resources on issues related to the development of an environmentally, socially, and economically sustainable society. To date, 90,000 visitors have accessed the 650 resources available online.

Project FLOW: For the Love of Water

Project FLOW engages elementary and secondary students in hands-on experiential projects that take action about water issues! Project FLOW provides workshops for teachers to help them facilitate action projects with their students that connect to the curriculum. The Project FLOW Fund, up to $3,000 per school, provides funding for the implementation of action projects that use resources on the R4R.ca web site. Special focus is given to Aboriginal and rural communities.

Step Outside

Step outside for Learning brings awareness to the many environmental education learning opportunities that occur in the school yard and neighbourhood. Through this program, teachers receive bimonthly emails highlighting natural events currently taking place often just outside their schools encouraging them to take their class outside twice a month to look at biodiversity issues. These outside explorations are linked to resources on the Resources4rethinking.ca database that the teacher could use to extend the learning in the classroom. This project brings the classroom into the community and the community into the classroom. Taking advantage of nearby learning opportunities is a low cost and effective approach that is useful throughout the seasons.

Youth Forums and Action Projects

LSF hosts Youth Forums across the country that engage students in action projects. The Forums connect youth with local government, business and community sustainability leaders to support them in the development and implementation of action projects in their school and community. To date, LSF has delivered 37 Youth Forums, engaging 800 schools, 1,600 teachers, over 5,000 students and 1,500 community groups in sustainability action projects.

ESD Schools

Education for Sustainable Development (ESD) schools use sustainability as an integrating context for teaching and learning, decision-making, civic engagement, community partnerships, and campus practices. They integrate operations, the physical surroundings, curriculum, and extra-curricular activities to foster the creation of responsible citizens. Our showcase school is the Stouffville District Secondary School in York Region.

Integrated Programs

Secondary school structures and timetables provide little opportunity for students to understand and take action on sustainability issues, such as climate change, energy, food/agriculture, that cut across many subject areas. Two, three, and four credit course packages available in some secondary schools in Ontario facilitate integrated learning and engage at-risk students. LSF will support and expand the delivery of these multi-credit programs to model sustainability as an integrating context, engaging students in action projects that advance technological, research, monitoring and other aspects of ESD.

Public Dialogues

Public concern over sustainability issues such as climate change, poverty/hunger, and the environmental impacts on health is increasing. What do citizens, including our youth, need to know and value to make responsible choices. LSF will host a series of public dialogues, bringing together educators, researchers, business, government and non-government organizations to help shape formal and informal education programs to maximize their impact.

Connecting the Dots

Teachers need a practical guide to help them address sustainability as the context for relevant, meaningful and active learning. LSF will produce a guide that simplifies, for classroom teachers at both the elementary and secondary level, what it means to address ESD. What is “systems thinking”? How do I get students to look at the various perspectives of an issue like climate change? What are the strategies for thinking critically about the food vs biofuel debate?

Professional Development

LSF supports professional learning networks and summer camps for educators to develop their ESD teaching skills. Teachers develop theme-based units that use sustainability to integrate subjects, field test them in their classrooms, and then share their results with the network.

ESD Innovation Awards

LSF will identify leaders in ESD and provide annual awards for ESD innovation. Award categories include: Action Project Award, ESD Teacher Award, ESD School Award, ESD School Board Award, ESD Resource Award, and ESD Policy Award. The winners would be announced at the Annual ESD Symposium. The awards would be used to inspire action and systemic change.

ESD Scholarships

LSF will set up a number of post-secondary scholarships to support students studying education for sustainable development at York University. With a minimum gift of $50,000, donors will leverage matching funds through the Graduate Support Matching Program – with an impact of quadrupling the original gift – creating a permanently named endowed fund. This endowment will provide a yearly internship for a graduate student to undertake applied research with Learning for a Sustainable Future. Students will be drawn the Schulich School of Business, Osgoode Law, and the Faculties of Education, and Environmental Studies.

Marketing of LSF Initiatives

Communicating the complex challenges of sustainable development and the role of education in facilitating informed decision-making and action is always a challenge. LSF is a small NGO with a very big ESD footprint (which in this case is a good thing!) We have been told that we are “the best kept secret”!! LSF is seeking direction and support for marketing and communication.

Latest Resource

Connecting the dots

Key Strategies that Transform Learning
From Environmental Education to Citizenship and Sustainability

Newsletter Sign-up

Register for Professional Development

Information and resources on the important topics affecting our world today.

Programmes

Un investissement dans LST est un investissement dans un avenir durable, et l'éducation de nos jeunes est primordiale.

Soutien de la Décennie des Nations Unies pour l'éducation en vue du développement durable

2005 - 2014 est la Décennie des Nations Unies pour l'éducation en vue du développement durable (DNUÉDD). LST dirige les actions canadiennes pour mettre en oeuvre la Décennie au Canada via la coordonnation d'un conseil national d'experts en ÉDD et de groupes de travail sur l'ÉDD provinciaux/territoriaux. Ces réseaux de leaders des secteurs public, privé et de la société civique soutiennent la direction, l'innovation, la collaboration, la recherche et l'évaluation continue qui sont essentielles à la promotion de l'ÉDD au sein des systèmes d'éducation formel, non formel et informel à travers le Canada.

Ressources pour repenser (R4R) www.r4r.ca/fr

Ressources pour repenser est un répertoire en ligne gratuit où les enseignant-e-s et le grand public peuvent chercher des ressources pédagogiques de la plus haute qualité, revues par des pairs, liées au programme d'études et qui abordent des enjeux liés au développement d'une société durable sur les plans environnemental, social et économique. À date, 90 000 visiteurs ont accédé aux 650 ressources disponibles en ligne.

Projet EAU: Pour l'amour de l'eau

Projet EAU permet aux élèves du primaire et du secondaire à participer à des projets pratiques et expérientiels qui abordent des enjeux liés à l'eau. Projet EAU offre des ateliers aux enseignant-e-s qui leur expliquent comment faire des projets d'action liés au programme d'études avec leurs élèves. Le fonds du Projet EAU, jusqu'à 3 000 $ par école, fournit du financement pour la mise en oeuvre de projets d'action qui utilisent des ressources sur le site web www.R4R.ca. On met un accent particulier sur les collectivités autochtones et rurales.

Sortez dehors!

Sortez dehors pour apprendre met l'accent sur les nombreuses occasions d'apprentissage en éducation relative à l'environnement qui ont lieu dans la cour d'école et dans le quartier des élèves. Dans le cadre de ce projet, les enseignant-e-s reçoivent des courriels bimestriels soulignant des phénomènes naturels qui ont lieu à l'heure actuelle - souvent juste à l'extérieur de l'école - et encourageant les enseignant-e-s à sortir dehors avec leurs classes deux fois par mois pour enquêter des enjeux liés à la biodiversité. Ces enquêtes à l'extérieur sont liées aux ressources dans le répertoire www.R4R.ca que les enseignant-e-s pourraient utiliser pour prolonger l'apprentissage dans la salle de classe. Ce projet apporte la salle de classe à la communauté et la communauté à la salle de classe. Profiter des occasions d'apprentissage qui se trouvent à proximité est une approche peu coûteuse mais efficace qui peut être employée tout au long de l'année.

Forums jeunesse et projets d'action

LST organise des forums jeunesse à travers le pays qui permettent aux élèves de mener des projets d'action. Les forums lient les jeunes avec des leaders en matière de durabilité du gouvernement local, du secteur privé et de la communauté et appuient le développement et la mise en oeuvre de projets d'actions dans leurs écoles et dans leurs collectivités. À date, LST a organisé 37 forums jeunesse, impliquant 800 écoles, 1 600 enseignant-e-s et plus de 5 000 élèves et 1 500 organismes communautaires dans des projets en matière de durabilité.

Écoles ÉDD

Les écoles qui appliquent l'Éducation pour le développement durable (ÉDD) ont recours à la durabilité comme contexte
d’intégration de l’enseignement et de l’apprentissage, de la prise de décision, de l’engagement civique, des partenariats communautaires et des pratiques du fonctionnement de l’école. Elles intègrent les opérations, le milieu environnant, le programme d'études et les activités parascolaires afin d'encourager le développement de citoyen-ne-s responsables. Notre modèle est l'École secondaire du district de Stouffville dans la Région de York.

Programmes intégrés

Les structures et les horaires des écoles secondaires offrent peu d'occasions pour les élèves de comprendre et d'agir sur des enjeux en matière de durabilité tels le changement climatique, l'énergie, et l'alimentation et l'agriculture, questions transversales qui sont liées à plusieurs matières différentes. Des programmes de deux, trois et quatre crédits offerts à certaines écoles secondaires ontariennes favorisent l'apprentissage intégré et mobilisent les élèves à risque. LST appuyera et développera la réalisation de ces programmes à multiples crédits, qui ont recours à la durabilité comme contexte intégrateur et qui lançent les élèves dans des projets d'action qui promeuvent, entre autres aspects, les aspects technologiques, de recherche, et d'évaluation de l'ÉDD.

Dialogues publics

La préoccupation du public relatives aux enjeux de durabilité, tels le changement climatique, la pauvreté, la faim, et les incidences de l'environnement sur la santé humaine, est en croissance. Qu'est-ce que les citoyen-ne-s, y compris les jeunes, doivent savoir et valoriser afin de faire des choix responsables? LST organisera une série de dialogues publics, réunissant des éducateurs, des chercheurs, des entreprises et des organismes gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux, qui aideront à façonner des programmes d'éducation formelle et informelle afin de maximiser leur incidence.

Relier les points

Les enseignants ont besoin d'un guide pratique qui les aidera à recourir à la durabilité comme contexte pour l'apprentissage pertinent, significatif et actif. LST produira un guide destiné aux enseignant-e-s du primaire et du secondaire qui simplifie ce qu'aborder la durabilité veut dire. Qu'est-ce la « pensée associative » ? Comment puis-je pousser mes élèves à considérer les diverses perspectives sur un enjeu, tel le changement climatique? Quelles stratégies peut-on employer pour penser de manière critique au débat de la production alimentaire vs. la production de biocarburants?

Développement professionnel

LST appuie des réseaux de perfectionnement professionnel et des camps d'été pour des éducateurs et des éducatrices afin de développer leurs aptitudes pour l'enseignement en ÉDD. Les enseignant-e-s créeront des unités thématiques qui utilisent la durabilité pour intégrer des matières, les testeront dans leurs salles de classe et partageront ensuite les résultats avec le réseau.

Prix d'innovation en ÉDD

LST identifiera des leaders en ÉDD et décernera des prix annuels pour l'innovation en ÉDD. Parmi les catégories de prix sont: le prix pour un projet d'action; le prix pour un-e enseignant-e qui applique l'ÉDD; le prix pour une école qui applique l'ÉDD; le prix pour un conseil scolaire qui applique l'ÉDD; le prix pour une ressource pédagogique en ÉDD; et le prix pour une politique sur l'ÉDD. On annoncera les gagnant-e-s lors du Symposium annuel sur l'ÉDD. Ces prix serviront à inspirer des action et du changement systémique.

Bourses en ÉDD

LST mettra en place des bourses d'études postsecondaires pour appuyer des étudiant-e-s qui étudient l'éducation pour le développement durable à l'Université York. En faisant un don minimum de 50 000 $, les donateurs mobiliseront des fonds de contrepartie du programme de contrepartie du soutien des étudiant-e-s des cycles supérieurs (Graduate Support Matching Program) - ce qui aura l'effet de quadrupler le don original - et créeront ainsi un fonds permanent au nom du donateur. Cette dotation créera un stage annuel pour un-e étudiant-e des cycles supérieurs qui fera de la recherche appliquée avec L'éducation au service de la Terre. Les étudiant-e-s seront pris-e-s du Schulich School of Business, Osgoode Law, et des facultés d'éducation et d'études environnementales.

Commercialisation des initiatives de LST

La communication des défis complexes du développement durable et du rôle de l'éducation dans la facilitation de la prise de décisions informées et des actions responsables présente un défi. LST est un petit ONG avec une très grande empreinte d'ÉDD (dans ce cas, c'est une bonne chose!) On nous a dit que nous sommes « le secret le mieux gardé. » LST est à la recherche de direction et de soutien pour la commercialisation et la communication.

Nouvel outil

Relier les points

Principales stratégies qui transforment l’apprentissage
pour l’éducation environnementale, la citoyenneté et la durabilité

S'inscrire au bulletin

S'inscrire à un atelier de développement professionnel

Informations et ressources sur les sujets importants qui touchent notre monde d'aujourd'hui.