7. Sharing Responsibility for Learning with Students

Latest Resource

Connecting the dots

Key Strategies that Transform Learning
From Environmental Education to Citizenship and Sustainability

Preparation for active and engaged citizenship requires educators to shift responsibility for learning to students. This requires that teachers prepare learners to be able to assume responsibility by addressing individual and group learning capacities. It involves deep listening to understand and respect student motivations and needs and to support their learning journey in becoming who they wish to be. 


Sharing Responsibility for Learning involves viewing each student as a whole person –a citizen learner – from the time they start school when they arrive ready, able and needing to contribute to their communities. It involves the planned and appropriate transfer of responsibility, from teacher to student(s) in determining what is learned, how it is learned, how learning is used, and what is assessed and evaluated. 

Preparing students to take responsibility for their learning requires attending to an individual learner’s development by addressing emotional/mental health (self-awareness and control) and social skills, and addressing the capacity of the individual for learning that arises from being part of a collaborative community of learners. 

With support at the personal and group levels, teachers should allow students to make authentic decisions with consequences, individually and as collaborative learning groups.

Read more about Sharing Responsibility for Learning with Students:

Additional Insights, Support and Examples
of Acting on Learning

Educators are invited to add insights, support and examples to this list. Email joanne@lsf-lst.ca

Newsletter Sign-up

Register for Professional Development

Information and resources on the important topics affecting our world today.

7. Partager la responsabilité de l’apprentissage

Nouvel outil

Relier les points

Principales stratégies qui transforment l’apprentissage
pour l’éducation environnementale, la citoyenneté et la durabilité

Pour préparer les élèves à être des citoyens actifs et engagés, les éducateurs doivent transférer la responsabilité de l’apprentissage à ces derniers. Pour ce faire, ils doivent tenir compte des capacités d’apprentissage des particuliers et du groupe. Ils doivent donc écouter les élèves et respecter leur motivation et leurs besoins, ainsi que les appuyer dans leur parcours d’apprentissage.


Pour partager la responsabilité de l’apprentissage, il faut voir chaque élève comme une personne entière – un citoyen apprenant – dès leur entrée à l’école, alors qu’ils sont prêts à contribuer à leur communauté,en mesure de le faire et en manifestent le besoin. Le transfert de la responsabilité de l’enseignant à l’élève doit être planifié et approprié pour déterminer ce qui est appris, comment l’apprentissage a lieu,comment il est utilisé et ce qui est évalué.

Pour préparer les élèves à assumer la responsabilité de leur apprentissage, l’enseignant doit veiller au développement de l’apprenant en surveillant sa santé mentale et émotionnelle (conscience de soi et contrôle) et ses compétences sociales, et en tenant compte de la capacité de l’élève d’apprendre dans le cadre d’une communauté collaboratrice d’apprenants.

En appuyant les élèves individuels et l’ensemble du groupe, les enseignants devraient permettre aux élèves de prendre des décisions authentiques et d’en assumer les conséquences, individuellement ou en groupe

Lisez-en plus sur partager la responsabilité de l’apprentissage

Observations, aide et exemples additionnels de partager la responsabilité de l’apprentissage

Les éducateurs sont invités à ajouter des observations, de l’aide et des exemples à cette liste. Envoyez un courriel à joanne@lsf-lst.ca

S'inscrire au bulletin

S'inscrire à un atelier de développement professionnel

Informations et ressources sur les sujets importants qui touchent notre monde d'aujourd'hui.