2015 Jack Layton Award for Youth Action in Sustainability

2014-2015 Results

The following eight schools have been recognized out of over 50 school action projects to receive the Learning for a Sustainable Future Jack Layton Award for Youth Action in Sustainability. Hartley Bay was awarded first place, two schools were recognized as Runner-Ups and five schools were given Honourable Mentions. Check out the amazing and innovative projects these schools have done by reading the summaries below. Thank you to everyone who participated! All of your projects were outstanding! We look forward to seeing your submissions next year!

Winner:

Hartley Bay School

The winning school this year is Hartley Bay School from Hartley Bay, British Columbia. Their project features a unique and fun method in responding to community challenges in regards to healthy, sustainable and environmental choices.  Congratulations!

Students at Hartley Bay School had set out into Gitga’at Territory where they collected baseline data about their local environment, specifically in Malsey Bay (Lu lax kyook). Students have enhanced their traditional knowledge through interaction with elders about the historical significance of Lu lax Kyook to the Gitga’at nation. This project was done in conjunction with the Gitga’at Guardian program and was supported by the Band Council and Office. The students will be giving a presentation on their findings for the entire school in June. The students talking about their experiences and with the coordination with the Band Council and the Gitga’at Guardians, greatly impacted the community. From their action project, they were able to help their community understand the impact of familiarizing with one’s own territory and how this can help build a better capacity to plan for future generations.

View their Our Canada Project Post here.


Runner-Ups:

Evergreen Heights Education Centre

Students from Evergreen Heights Education Centre, located in Emsdale, Ontario, created their very own used store called “Change The Label’s Hip Threads.” With start-up funds provided by Learning for a Sustainable Future, students celebrated the store’s grand opening following extensive planning, which included store organization, data and money collection system implementation, making environmentally-friendly laundry soap, holding clothing collections, sorting and washing clothes, and hosting a school assembly espousing environmental, social and economic benefits of reusing clothes. "Hip Threads" came to life every Thursday in the school's main foyer where clothing donations were stored in the unused lockers. Moreover, a highly popular school fashion show and other marketing initiatives promoted the store. Clothing was sold by donation and was made available free of charge as needed. All store proceeds were subsequently donated to Free the Children's "We Create Change," where $50 would be used to buy a goat which would help assist a family in a developing country.

View their Our Canada Project Post here.

View their Hip Threads Used Clothing Store: Change The Label, Change The World from Anne Shillolo on Vimeo.


Windermere Secondary School

Students from Windermere Secondary School from Vancouver, British Columbia worked with one another in meaningful ways in order to expand their knowledge and experience on the issues surrounding climate change. One of their major projects that was ongoing was their 7th annual Climate Change Conference (C3), put together by the Grade 11 Leadership class, which brought students from across Vancouver together where students participated in presentations, workshops, and community action. The conference regularly attracts over 300 students from as far away as Kelowna and Vancouver Island and has also been acknowledged by the Member of Parliament, Don Davies, in the House of Commons. Another large event organized by the leadership students was the Earth Day Parade and Celebration. Last year, it included the closure of Commercial Drive, a major street in Vancouver, and the access to a park for the celebration. Through these events, the leadership students from Windermere learned what it means to be a part of a community support network that prioritizes social responsibility, community engagement and environmental stewardship. It is through diverse experiences in their school and community that the Windermere students learned how to be active citizens.  

View their Our Canada Project Post here.


Honourable Mentions:

Bready School

The students from Bready School, North Battleford, Saskatchewan have incorporated a composting initiative within their school. By collecting and composting discarded foods, their school will use the compost for fertilizer in their outdoor garden. This initiative was student-led and year-round with guidance from a staff member volunteer. Every student/staff member was responsible for throwing their discarded food into “compost only” garbage-like pails. After lunch, three Green Club members, a leader and two learners collected and dumped all organic waste into a larger bin. This bin is easily pushed through the hallways using a cart. Once the students are done, they weighed the waste and documented it. The students then brought the waste to the outdoor compost bin. In the spring, they hope to use their compost for fertilizer in their outdoor garden.  

 View their Our Canada Project Post here.


Brookside Public School

This year Grade 8 Brookside Public School students from Toronto, Ontario, participated in the WaterDocs@School program. They took a close look at local water issues, brainstormed and implemented innovative and creative ways to raise awareness and engage their community in water conservation measures. First, they began collecting data to assess their community’s awareness of certain issues and the frequency of specific behaviours. Their project managed to reach teachers, students, parents, those who attended their winter concerts or read any of their newsletters, family and friends who liked, followed, and reposted their social media posts, and the 100,000 readers in a wide radius of eastern Ontario who read the Tamil newspaper that published their article. They screened their documentaries at their own Brookside WaterDocs festival and was recognized as Best Student Action Project. Educating themselves, sharing this information with their community, and encouraging everyone to engage in these small and doable water conservation measures allowed them to protect their very valuable watershed whilst building the awareness that they can affect environmental change in themselves, their schools and in their community.

Rama Central Public School

Students from Rama Central School, located in Washago, Ontario, have taken great pride in their sustainable living and outreach initiatives. They ran a student-led recycling and composting program, promoted energy and waste reduction, created a pollination garden, are currently fundraising for an outdoor classroom, will soon have solar panels on the school’s roof (a board initiative), and have engaged in student-led campaigns to benefit organizations such as WWF Canada, the Kawartha Turtle Trauma Center and local wildlife rehabilitation centres. They have used Step Outside guides to help students build awareness and appreciation of their schoolyard’s natural environment. This is the second year they have assisted local wildlife rehabilitation centres in fall food gathering to sustain orphaned and injured animals that are overwhelming them. Moreover, students have demonstrated leadership qualities in the promotion and organization of this year’s school food drive. Students and staff were given the opportunity to help nourish individual animals and, in doing so, helped sustain biodiversity by gathering items from nature that were accessible near their homes. Furthermore, the food drive provided a wonderful opportunity for the students to learn curriculum in a real world context and for a real purpose.

View their Our Canada Project Post here.


Regional Alternative Education Centre

Students and staff from Regional Alternative Education centre from Altona, Manitoba, worked together to plan the types of vegetation that they could start planting in containers and could grow indoors. The vegetation would eventually be placed outdoors in May, which can help make foods like salads for the students. When the school year comes to a close, they will replace lettuces with strawberry plants so that the pots will be a permanent strawberry “patch”. Since the school values intergenerational relationship and learning, the school was able to create opportunities for generational and cultural understandings for students. For instance, the youth partnered with adult learns from various cultural backgrounds, including those who have recently immigrated to Canada and joined the school to learn more about what can be grown in Manitoba gardens. The school placed their containers near the playground area that was accessed by the children of their on-site daycare center where these youngsters became more curious and excited in knowing more about the garden project. The planning and planting pots together within the school and community created intercultural and intergenerational collaboration. Surplus produced would then be shared with the local food bank or be given to those who are struggling financially.

View their Our Canada Project Post here.


Tecumseh Public School

Students from Tecumseh Public School from Burlington, Ontario conducted an inquiry project called “Plant Wars” where they planted invasive species and native species in the same pot to observe what would happen when the plans interact with one another. To do this project, they made posters to get their classes interested. They then contacted a local expert who they met at an Eco-Schools event and asked them to bring them some invasive and native plants. The students planted them all in the same pot and took care of them all winter. Around March and April, they noticed that the garlic mustard was taking over the other plants. The students believed that this was because the garlic mustard’s large leaves blocked the other plants from the sun. The students also noticed that there were a lot of baby sprouts growing, which made the garlic mustard bigger than the native species and that the garlic mustard produced a toxin that affected the other native plants from growing. From this inquiry, the students hypothesized that the garlic mustard could potentially kill other important plants like apple trees and flowers and learned that this can create a domino affect within the ecosystem. Ultimately the students learned that in order to protect biodiversity, they needed to get rid of invasive plants and protect native plants.   

View their Our Canada Project Post here.


View past winners: 

Newsletter Sign-up

Register for Professional Development

Information and resources on the important topics affecting our world today.

2015 Prix Jack Layton de la jeunesse pour le développement durable de LST

Résultats de 2014-2015

Les huit écoles suivantes ont été sélectionnées parmi plus de 50 projets d’action scolaires afin de recevoir le Prix Jack Layton de la jeunesse pour le développement durable de LST.  L’école secondaire Hartley Bay a obtenu la première place, deux écoles se sont partagé le deuxième rang et cinq écoles ont mérité des mentions honorables. Prenez connaissance de leurs projets exceptionnels en lisant les sommaires figurant ci-dessous.


Merci à tous ceux qui ont participé à cette initiative! Vous avez réalisé des projets fantastiques!  Nous avons hâte de voir vos initiatives de l’an prochain!

École gagnante :

École Hartley Bay 

Cette année, la grande gagnante est l’école Hartley Bay de Hartley Bay, en Colombie-Britannique. Son projet met en vedette une méthode inédite et agréable pour soulever des défis communautaires liés à des choix sains, durables et environnementaux. Félicitations!


Les élèves de l’école Hartley Bay se sont rendus au territoire Gitga’at pour recueillir des données de base concernant leur environnement local, notamment sur Malsey Bay (Lu lax kyook). Ils ont accru leurs connaissances traditionnelles en parlant aux aînés de l’importance historique de Lu lax Kyook pour le peuple Gitga’at. Ce projet a été mené à bien conjointement avec le programme de surveillance des Gitga’at et bénéficié de l’appui du conseil de bande et du bureau. Les élèves ont présenté leurs constatations à l’école entière en juin. Ils ont parlé de leur expérience et, en collaboration avec le conseil de bande et les surveillants Gitga’at, ont pu avoir un impact important sur la communauté. Grâce à leur projet, ils ont été en mesure d’aider leur collectivité à comprendre l’importance de se familiariser avec son propre territoire ainsi que les façons dont cette compréhension peut les aider à mieux planifier pour les générations à venir. 

Voir leur poste sure Projet Notre Canada ici. (en anglais)


Écoles au deuxième rang :

Evergreen Heights Education Centre 

Les élèves du Evergreen Heights Education Centre, à Emsdale, en Ontario, ont créé leur propre magasin de seconde main, appelé « Change The Label’s Hip Threads ». Grâce à la mise de fonds de L’éducation au service de la Terre, les élèves ont pu fêter la grande ouverture de leur magasin après une planification approfondie qui consistait notamment à organiser les stocks, à mettre en œuvre un système pour recueillir l’argent et les données, à fabriquer un détergent à lessive sans danger pour l’environnement, à tenir des collectes de vêtements, à trier et laver les vêtements et à organiser une assemblée scolaire pour mettre en valeur les avantages environnementaux, sociaux et économiques de réutiliser les vêtements. « Hip Threads » ouvrait ses portes tous les jeudis dans le hall d’entrée de l’école, où les dons de vêtements étaient rangés dans des vestiaires inutilisés. Les élèves ont aussi fait la promotion de leur magasin en organisant un défilé de mode couronné de succès et en lançant d’autres initiatives de marketing. Les vêtements étaient vendus en contrepartie de dons et offerts gratuitement au besoin. Le produit de toutes les ventes a été remis à l’initiative « We Create Change », de Free the Children, où un don de 50 $ permet d’acheter une chèvre pour aider une famille dans un pays en développement.

 Voir leur poste sure Projet Notre Canada ici. (en anglais)

Voir leur vidéo pour « Hip Threads Used Clothing Store: Change The Label, Change The World » sur Vimeo. (en anglais)


École secondaire Windermere 

Les élèves de l’école secondaire Windermere, à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique, ont travaillé ensemble afin d’accroître leurs connaissances sur les enjeux entourant le changement climatique. L’un de leurs principaux projets a consisté dans l’organisation, par la classe de leadership de la 11e année, de la 7e conférence sur le changement climatique (C3). Cette conférence a réuni des élèves d’un bout à l’autre de Vancouver pour prendre part à des présentations. Elle suscite régulièrement la participation de plus de 300 élèves venant d’aussi loin que Kelowna et l’île de Vancouver, et a aussi été mentionnée par le député Don Davies dans la Chambre des Communes. Les élèves du leadership organisent aussi une parade et fête pour le Jour de la Terre. L’an dernier, le Commercial Drive, importante rue à Vancouver, a été fermée pour l’événement, dirigeant plutôt les participants vers un parc. Grâce à ces événements, les élèves du leadership de l’école Windermere ont appris l’importance de faire partie d’un réseau de soutien communautaire qui donne priorité à la responsabilité sociale, à l’engagement communautaire et à l’intendance environnementale. C’est par le biais de ses expériences diverses dans leur école et leur communauté que les élèves de Windermere ont appris comment devenir des citoyens actifs.  

Voir leur poste sure Projet Notre Canada ici. (en anglais)


Mentions honorables :

École Bready 

Les élèves de l’école Bready, à North Battleford, en Saskatchewan, ont entrepris une initiative de compostage dans leur école. Après avoir recueilli et composté les déchets alimentaires, l’école utilisera l’engrais ainsi produit dans son jardin. Les élèves ont mené cette initiative pendant toute l’année scolaire avec l’aide d’un membre du personnel bénévole. Tous les élèves et les membres du personnel devaient déposer leurs déchets alimentaires dans des seaux réservés à cette fin. Après le dîner, trois membres du Club Vert, soit un leader et deux apprenants, recueillaient les déchets et les déposaient dans un bac plus grand. Ils pouvaient facilement transporter ce bac dans le hall à l’aide d’un chariot. Après avoir accompli cette tâche, les élèves pesaient les déchets et documentaient les résultats. Ils déposaient ensuite les déchets dans le bac extérieur. Au printemps, ils espèrent utiliser le compost comme engrais pour le jardin de l’école. 

Voir leur poste sure Projet Notre Canada ici. (en anglais)

 

École publique Brookside 

Cette année, les élèves de la 8e année de l’école publique Brookside, à Toronto, en Ontario, ont pris part au programme WaterDocs@School. Ainsi, ils ont examiné de près les enjeux liés à l’eau, fait des remue-méninges et mis en œuvre des façons novatrices et créatives de sensibiliser leur communauté à la nécessité de conserver l’eau. D’abord, ils ont recueilli des données pour évaluer le degré de sensibilisation de leur communauté à l’égard de certains enjeux et la fréquence de certains comportements. Leur projet a rejoint des enseignants, des élèves, des parents, ceux qui ont assisté aux spectacles d’hiver, ceux qui ont lu leurs bulletins, les parents et amis qui ont aimé, suivi ou partagé leurs commentaires sur les médias sociaux, ainsi que les 100 000 personnes de l’est de l’Ontario qui ont lu leur article dans un journal tamil. Ils ont présenté leurs documentaires au festival WaterDocs de Brookside, qui a mérité le prix de Meilleur projet d’action étudiant. En se renseignant eux-mêmes, partageant ces découvertes avec leur communauté et encourageant tout le monde à prendre des mesures pour protéger l’eau, ils ont pu faire leur part pour préserver cette ressource, tout en réalisant qu’ils peuvent eux-mêmes sonner la charge à des changements environnementaux dans leur école et dans leur communauté. 

École publique Rama Central 

Les élèves de l’école Rama Central, située à Washago, en Ontario, sont très fiers de leurs initiatives de vie durable et de rayonnement. Ils ont organisé un programme de recyclage et de compostage, promu la réduction de la consommation énergétique et des déchets, créé un jardin de pollinisation, recueillent actuellement des fonds pour créer une classe extérieure, installeront bientôt des panneaux solaires sur le toit de l’école (initiative du conseil scolaire) et ont mené des campagnes au profit d’organisations comme WWF-Canada, le Turtle Trauma Center de Kawartha et des centres de réadaptation locaux de la faune. Ils ont utilisé les guides Sortez dehors pour se familiariser davantage avec l’environnement naturel de la cour d’école. C’est la deuxième année où ils aident des centres de réadaptation locaux de la faune à recueillir des denrées à l’automne pour nourrir les animaux blessés et orphelins. De plus, les élèves ont fait valoir leurs qualités de chef en promouvant et organisant la collecte de denrée de l’école cette année. Les élèves et le personnel ont eu l’occasion d’aider à nourrir des animaux et, ce faisant, d’appuyer la biodiversité en recueillant des articles dans la nature près de chez eux. La collecte de denrées a aussi offert aux élèves la merveilleuse occasion de se familiariser avec leur curriculum dans un contexte réaliste et à des fins concrètes.

Voir leur poste sure Projet Notre Canada ici. (en anglais)


Regional Alternative Education Centre

Les élèves et le personnel du Regional Alternative Education Centre à Altona, au Manitoba, ont fait équipe pour déterminer les types de végétation qu’ils pouvaient planter dans des contenants à l’intérieur. En mai, les plants seraient cultivés à l’extérieur afin de pouvoir être utilisés pour confectionner des salades, par exemple. À la fin de l’année scolaire, des plants de fraises remplaceront la laitue de sorte que les contenants se transformeront en « champ » de frais permanent. Puisque l’école prise les relations et l’apprentissage intergénérationnels, elle a été en mesure de créer des occasions d’apprentissage impliquant d’autres générations et cultures. Par exemple, les jeunes ont fait équipe avec des adultes de cultures différentes, y compris de nouveaux immigrants au Canada, pour leur montrer ce qui peut être cultivé dans les jardins du Manitoba. Les élèves ont placé les contenants près du terrain de jeux utilisé par la garderie de l’école pour susciter la curiosité et l’enthousiasme des tout-petits à l’égard du projet de jardinage. Les efforts combinés de l’école et de la collectivité pour planifier et ensemencer les contenants ont donné lieu à une collaboration entre les cultures et les générations. Les excédents des production devaient être remis à la banque alimentaire locale ou à des personnes souffrant de difficultés financières. 

Voir leur poste sure Projet Notre Canada ici. (en anglais)


Tecumseh Public School

Les élèves de l’école publique Tecumseh, de Burlington, en Ontario, ont mené un projet inquisitif appelé « Guerre des plantes », lequel consistait à planter des espèces envahissantes et indigènes dans le même contenant pour observer leurs interactions. Pour mettre leur projet en œuvre, ils ont créé des affiches afin de stimuler l’intérêt des classes. Ils ont ensuite contacté un expert local qu’ils avaient rencontré à la conférence Eco-Schools et lui ont demandé de leur apporter des espèces envahissantes et indigènes. Ils ont plantées ces espèces dans le même contenant et s’en sont occupées tout l’hiver. Vers mars ou avril, ils ont constaté que l’alliaire officinale commençait à empiéter sur les autres plantes. Les élèves ont attribué ce phénomène au fait que ses grosses feuilles bloquaient le soleil pour les autres. Ils ont aussi remarqué qu’il y avait de nombreuses nouvelles pousses, si bien que le plant d’alliaire officinale était plus grand que les autres, et que celui-ci produisait une toxine empêchant les autres espèces de grandir. Grâce à ces recherches, les élèves ont posé l’hypothèse voulant que l’alliaire officinale puisse éventuellement tuer d’autres plantes importantes, comme les pommiers et les fleurs, et appris que cela pourrait créer un effet en cascade au sein de l’écosystème. En fin de compte, les élèves ont conclu que pour protéger la biodiversité, ils devaient éliminer les espèces envahissantes et protéger les espèces indigènes.   

Voir leur poste sure Projet Notre Canada ici. (en anglais)

 

View past winners: 

S'inscrire au bulletin

S'inscrire à un atelier de développement professionnel

Informations et ressources sur les sujets importants qui touchent notre monde d'aujourd'hui.