2016 Jack Layton Award for Youth Action in Sustainability

2015-2016 Results

The following four schools have been recognized out of over 100 school action projects to receive the 2016 Learning for a Sustainable Future Jack Layton Award for Youth Action in Sustainability. St. Benedict School was awarded first place, two schools were recognized as Runner-Ups and one schools was given an Honourable Mention. Check out the amazing and innovative projects these schools have done by reading the summaries below. Thank you to everyone who participated. All of your projects were outstanding, and we look forward to seeing your submissions next year!

Winner:

St. Benedict School

The winning school this year is St. Benedict School from Milton, ON. Their project features a unique and innovative sustainability solution that showcases student creativity and talent.  Congratulations!

St. Benedict students noticed that their new school was lacking in natural green areas. They envisioned a school yard with trees, plants, and even an outdoor classroom to allow their classmates to learn outside and connect with nature, fostering a more sustainable school environment. In order to raise funds to achieve this vision, the students came up with the innovative idea of creating a benefit song! After exploring videos on R4R.ca touching on various sustainability themes, students compiled the issues that most resonated with them and wrote the lyrics. They then performed and recorded the song, titled "Save the Earth." The song is available for downlaod by donation on the school's website, and fundraising is still ongoing! 

View their Our Canada Project Post here.

Donate and download their song here!


Runners-Up:

Marysville Elementary School

Grade 2 students at Marysville Elementary in Kimberley, BC were inspired by a children's book called "Compost Stew." They started by collecting and weighing the entire school's compost every day, starting on the first day of school. Their monthly calculations tell them that, after 100 school days, almost 800 pounds of compost were generated ("the weight of a male grizzly bear!" said one teacher). The compost is not only collected, but turned and maintained by the students, and it will be used in Marysville's own garden beds. This project also had an artistic component, as the students created compost "monster" collages out of food scraps and participated in making and playing educational games such as "Compost Bingo."

Watch their slideshow here.

 

Brooks Junior High School

Grade 7-9 students at BJHS in Brooks, AB are motivated to reviltalize an unused, overgrown, unattractive courtyard space at their school. Beyond cleaning it up, the students have a big vision for the space including produce and flower beds, a vine wall, a social and learning space with tables and benches, and even a large mural. The large scope and variety of the project allows many different classes to get involved by centering art, construction, and science projects around the courtyard revitilization. The students' efforts have been documented on their website, with many wonderful photos. LSF is proud to be a part of such a large effort, and we can't wait to see the final results!

View their Our Canada Project Post here.

See their website here.


Honourable Mention:

New Maryland Elementary

The grade 2 class at New Maryland Elementary in New Maryland, NB threw themselves headlong into an aquaponics adventure! Building and maintaining an aquaponics system has allowed the students to explore indoor food production right in their classroom - but that's not all! Students also learned about ecosystems and biodiversity, used their artistic skills to decorate the system, researched different types of fish, made scientific observations about plant growth, and used math to track their data. They even went on field trips to learn more about aquaponics, fish, and our food system. Now they hope to teach the rest of their school all about aquaponics! 

View their Our Canada Project Post here.

See their class blog here.


View past winners: 

Newsletter Sign-up

Register for Professional Development

Information and resources on the important topics affecting our world today.

Prix Jack Layton de la jeunesse pour le développement durable de LST

Résultats de 2015-2016

Les quatre écoles suivantes ont été sélectionnées parmi plus de 100 projets d’action scolaires afin de recevoir le Prix Jack Layton de la jeunesse pour le développement durable de LST.  L’école St. Benedict a obtenu la première place, deux écoles se sont partagé le deuxième rang et une école a mérité une mention honorable. Prenez connaissance de leurs projets exceptionnels en lisant les sommaires figurant ci-dessous. Merci à tous ceux qui ont participé à cette initiative! Vous avez réalisé des projets fantastiques!  Nous avons hâte de voir vos initiatives de l’an prochain!

École gagnante :

École St. Benedict

Cette année, la grande gagnante est l’école St. Benedict de Milton, ON. Son projet consiste dans une solution unique et novatrice en matière de durabilité qui met en vedette la créativité et le talent des élèves. Félicitations!

Les élèves de St. Benedict ont constaté que les espaces verts naturels étaient rares à leur école. Ils s’imaginaient une cour d’école avec des arbres, des plantes et même une classe extérieure permettant à leurs camarades de classe d’apprendre dans la nature, le tout dans le but de favoriser un contexte scolaire plus durable. Pour concrétiser leur vision, ils ont dû recueillir des fonds, ce qu’ils ont fait en composant une chanson de bienfaisance! Après avoir vision des vidéos sur R4R.ca concernant divers thèmes de durabilité, les élèves ont dressé une liste des enjeux qui les touchaient de plus près et composé des paroles. Ils ont ensuite enregistré la chanson Save the Earth, qui peut être téléchargée sur le site Web de l’école. Les efforts de collecte de fonds sont toujours en cours! 

Voir l’article affiché sur Notre Projet Canada ici

Télécharger la chanson ici!

http://i68.tinypic.com/sndxcz.jpg

Écoles au deuxième rang :

École élémentaire Marysville

Les élèves de 2e année de l’école élémentaire Marysville à Kimberley, BC  ont été inspirés par le livre pour enfants intitulé Compost Stew. Ils ont commencé par recueillir et peser le compost entier de l’école chaque jour, dès le premier jour d’école. Selon leurs calculs mensuels, ils avaient recueilli près de 800 livres de compost après 100 jours d’école (« le poids d’un ours grizzly mâle!, a expliqué un enseignant). Non seulement les élèves recueillent le compost, mais ils le retournent et l’entretiennent afin qu’il soit utilisé dans les jardins de l’école. Ce projet comportait aussi un volet artistique, les élèves ayant créé des collages de « monstres » à l’aide des déchets alimentaires recueillis et participants à des jeux éducatifs tels que le « bingo du compost ».

Regardez la présentation de diapos ici.

http://i66.tinypic.com/ejvn8o.jpg http://i63.tinypic.com/k3ls2a.jpg

École secondaire de premier cycle Brooks

Les élèves de la 7e à la 9e année de l’école Brooks, à Brooks, AB, désirer revitaliser une cour inutilisée, non entretenue et désagréable au regard à leur école. En plus de la nettoyer, les élèves voulaient un planter des jardins et une vigne et y installer un espace destiné à l’apprentissage et aux activités sociales avec des tables, des bancs et mêmes une grande murale. La grande portée et la diversité de ce projet a permis à de nombreuses classes d’y participer en organisant des projets d’art, de construction et de science en lien avec la revitalisation de la cour. Les élèves ont documenté leurs efforts sur leur site Web, avec de nombreuses merveilleuses photos. LST est fière de participer à un si grand effort et a très hâte de voir les résultats finaux!

Voir l’article affiché sur Notre Projet Canada ici

Consultez le site Web du projet ici

http://ourcanadaproject.ca/wp-content/uploads/2016/04/IMG_2048-1460662473.JPG

Mention honorable :

École élémentaire New Maryland

Les élèves de 2e année de l’école élémentaire New Maryland, à New Maryland, NB, se sont plongés dans une aventure aquaponique! En construisant et entretenant un système aquaponique, les élèves ont pu explorer la production alimentaire dans leur classe – mais ce n’est pas tout! Ils se sont également familiarisés avec les écosystèmes et la biodiversité, utilisé leurs talents artistiques pour décorer le système, effectué des recherches sur divers types de poissons, note des observations scientifiques sur la croissance des plantes et fait appel aux mathématiques pour tenir le suivi de leurs données. Ils ont même fait des excursions pour en apprendre davantage sur les systèmes aquaponiques, les poissons et notre système alimentaire. Maintenant, ils veulent enseigner au reste de leur école les rudiments des systèmes aquaponiques! 

Voir l’article affiché sur Notre Projet Canada ici

Lire le blogue de la classe ici

http://mrgardinersclass.weebly.com/uploads/1/3/5/6/13568604/1241417_orig.jpg

S'inscrire au bulletin

S'inscrire à un atelier de développement professionnel

Informations et ressources sur les sujets importants qui touchent notre monde d'aujourd'hui.