2017 Jack Layton Award for Youth Action in Sustainability

2016-2017 Results

The 2017 Learning for a Sustainable Future Jack Layton Award for Youth Action in Sustainability is a special celebration of what makes Canada great: future generations of young people working together to make our country a better, more sustainable place. This year, for Canada 150, we have chosen 1 winner, 2 runners-up, and 3 Honourable Mentions out of over 30 schools.

But that's not all - in addition to recognizing the outstanding actions of these 6 groups, we will be highlighting one amazing, student-led sustainability Action Project per week until the end of 2017! Stay tuned to our Facebook and Twitter to help us in congratulating Canadian youth on their incredible work. 

Winner:

Rossland Summit School

The winning school this year is Rossland Summit School from Rossland, BC. Grade 1 and 2 students spend 1 afternoon per week exploring and observing their local Jubilee Wetland. The students started noticing changes in the ecosystem such as algae blooms and pollution and, after learning that their wetland could affect the Columbia River and even the ocean, they decided to take action! The class applied for EcoLeagueTM funding, a project of Learning for a Sustainable Future, and partnered with the nearby high school to build a shed for their new wetland observation tools such as nets, magnifying glasses, and more. They then began to raise awareness about watershed pollution in their community by painting yellow fish on storm drains and distributing information to local residents. Finally, they organized their First Annual Bio Blitz in May which hosted 455 students from 3 different schools working to identify local flora and fauna using identification cards. Congratulations on your incredible Action Project!

Click here to view their Our Canada Project post

Click here to view their Action Project video

 

Runners-Up:

Jack Chambers Public School

The students of Jack Chambers Public School in London, ON used the slogan "Only Rain Down the Drain" to educate the school community about the stormwater management pond in their school backyard. 

The Grade 8 students at Jack Chambers taught the importance of the pond to every class in the school, and they led an activity where every student and staff member decorated a wooden amphibian or reptile. Over 800 amphibians and reptiles were hung on the front school fence as public art, along with a sign to remind the community about the pond's relationship to the environment. The "Only Rain Down the Drain" slogan was also stencilled on storm drains on the neighbourhood roads and information cards were placed on door knobs. The students collaborated with the City of London to design new signs for storm water ponds across the City, and participated in the Adopt-a-Park program. The students created a documentary that won Best Project at the Water Docs@School Action Projects and will be used by the School and the City to promote the health of the pond. Awesome work, Jack Chambers Public School! 

Click here to view their Our Canada Project post

Click here to view their Action Project video

 

Herb Campbell Public School

As one of 15 schools in Peel District School Board participating in the First Nations, Métis, and Inuit (FNMI) Strategic Plan, the students of Herb Campbell Public School in Caledon, ON wanted to increase intercultural understanding and mutual respect for FNMI traditions by connecting with Indigenous educators. Their action plan included creating professional development workshops for their staff, curriculum integrated learning for students and creating a Medicine Wheel Garden Outdoor Classroom. Their ambitious landscape plan for the garden included several Indigenous plants surrounded by stone seating, a wildlife observation/inquiry area with feeders, and pathways to the natural forests and wetlands in the surrounding area. The project has engaged all staff and students, family members, Indigenous educators and elders in the community as they join them in planting and maintaining the garden. Through creating continuing learning opportunities and creating the medicine wheel garden, the Action Project has brought the community together in celebrating Indigenous traditions and perspectives. Incredible work, Herb Campbell Public School! 

Click here to view their Our Canada Project post

   

Honourable Mentions:

Fort McMurray Islamic School

The students at Fort McMurray Islamic School in Fort McMurrary, AB were concerned about the amount of waste generated from the use of white board markers. They determined that starting a Reusable Marker Program at their school would greatly decrease waste, and would save money for the school in the long run. The students applied for LSF EcoLeagueTM funding to research and purchase their first round of reusable markers and cartridges. The students educated their peers about the importance of the initiative and taught their teachers how to use the refillable cartridges for the markers. Amazing work, Fort McMurrary Islamic School! 

Click here to view their Our Canada Project post

Click here to view their Action Project video

 

Anderson Collegiate Vocational Institute

The students of Anderson Collegiate Vocational Institute in Whitby, ON wanted to raise awareness and promote action for the protection of our native pollinators. Their student-led action team was motivated to revitalize the unused and infertile courtyard at their school, complete with 100% pesticide-free native plants and bee boxes created by the grade 9 students. An awareness week, titled "To Bee or Not To Bee", was hosted to engage the school community through a variety of social and educational events. These activities included a pollinator-themed spelling bee, butterfly milkweed planting for students to take into their own gardens, a game of JeopardBEE, and a "bee-ball" tournament. Their efforts culminated in Anderson CVI being named Canada's first official "Bee High School" - excellent work, Anderson students!

Click here to view their Our Canada Project post

Click here to view their Action Project video

 St. Mary's Academy

The students at St. Mary's Academy in Winnipeg, MB were determined to reduce the amount of waste produced by their school by kick-starting the use of compostable plates in their cafeteria. By conducting a school-wide survey, the students determined that their peers and teachers would support the use of the plates, and would be willing to pay a small additional fee for the lunches. Through communicating and coordinating with the cafeteria staff, the students purchased the plates and helped the staff implement the initiative. They successfully convinced the independently-run cafeteria to continue using the new plates in the coming years, and they ran several waste awareness activities such as a waste-free lunch day and a brainstorming bulletin outside of the cafeteria. Great work, St. Mary's Academy!

Click here to view their Our Canada Project post

 

View past winners: 

Newsletter Sign-up

Register for Professional Development

Information and resources on the important topics affecting our world today.

2017 Prix Jack Layton de la jeunesse pour le développement durable de LST

Résultats de 2016-2017

Le Prix Jack Layton de la jeunesse pour le développement durable de LST pour 2017 met en lumière les atouts du Canada : de futures générations de jeunes qui concertent leurs efforts pour faire de notre pays un endroit encore meilleur et plus viable. Cette année, pour Canada 150, nous avons choisi 1 gagnant, 2 deuxièmes places et 3 mentions honorables parmi plus de 30 écoles participantes.

Mais ce n’est pas tout – en plus de rendre hommage aux projets remarquables de ces six groupes, nous mettrons en lumière un projet d’action étudiant exceptionnel par semaine d’ici la fin de 2017. Gardez nos pages Facebook et Twitter à l’œil pour nous aider à féliciter ces jeunes Canadiens pour leur travail incroyable.

Gagnant:

École Rossland Summit 

Cette année, l’école Rossland Summit, de Rossland, BC, remporte le premier prix. Les élèves de la 1re et 2e année ont consacré un après-midi par semaine à l’exploration et à l’observation de la zone humide du parc Jubilee. Ils ont pris conscience des changements au sein de leur écosystème, comme la prolifération d’algues et la pollution et, après s’être familiarisé avec l’influence possible de cette zone humide sur la rivière Columbia, voire sur l’océan, ils ont décidé de passer à l’action! Ils ont demandé l’aide financière de la Ligue ÉcoloMC, initiative de l’Éducation au service de la Terre, et fait équipe avec l’école secondaire avoisinante pour construire une remise afin d’y ranger leurs outils d’observation, comme leurs filets, leurs loupes et plus encore. Ils ont commencé à sensibiliser leur entourage à la pollution des cours d’eau de leur collectivité en peignant des poissons jaunes sur les égouts et distribuant des renseignements aux résidents locaux. Enfin, ils ont organisé leur premier Blitz Bio annuel en mai, accueillant 455 élèves de trois écoles différentes pour identifier la flore et la faune locale à l’aide de cartes d’identification. Félicitations pour votre incroyable projet d’action!

Cliquez ici pour voir leur soumission au Projet Notre Canada 

Cliquez ici pour visionner la vidéo de leur projet d’action 

 

Écoles au deuxième rang:

École publique Jack Chambers 

Les élèves de l’école publique Jack Chambers, à London, ON, ont disséminé le slogan « Only Rain Down the Drain » (pluie seulement dans les égouts) pour sensibiliser leur communauté scolaire au bassin de gestion des eaux pluviales se trouvant dans la cour de leur école.

 Ces élèves de 8e année ont sensibilisé toutes les classes de l’école à l’importance de ce bassin et organisé une activité appelant les élèves et les membres du personnel à décorer un amphibien ou un reptile en bois. Plus de 800 amphibiens et reptiles ont ensuite été installés sur la clôture de l’école en guise d’exposition d’art publique, en compagnie d’un panneau rappelant à la communauté le lien du bassin avec l’environnement. Les élèves ont aussi peint le slogan « Only Rain Down the Drain » sur les égouts du quartier et affiché des cartes d’information sur les poignées de porte. Les élèves ont collaboré avec la ville de London pour concevoir de nouveaux panneaux destinés aux bassins d’eaux pluviales de la ville et participé au programme Adoptons un parc. Enfin, ils ont réalisé un documentaire qui a remporté le prix du meilleur projet dans le cadre de l’initiative Water Docs @ School et qui sera utilisé par l’école et la ville dans le but de promouvoir la santé du bassin. Excellent travail! 

Cliquez ici pour voir leur soumission au Projet Notre Canada

Cliquez ici pour visionner la vidéo de leur projet d’action 

 

École publique Herb Campbell 

À titre de l’une des 15 écoles du conseil scolaire de district de Peel qui participent au plan stratégique des Premières Nations, Métis et Inuit (PNMI), les élèves de l’école publique Herb Campbell, à Caledon, ON, voulaient accroître la compréhension interculturelle des PNMI et le respect de leurs traditions en tissant des liens avec des éducateurs autochtones. Leur plan d’action consistait à organiser des ateliers de perfectionnement professionnel pour le personnel de l’école, à élaborer du matériel didactique intégré au curriculum pour les élèves et à créer  un jardin en forme de roue médicinale en guise de classe extérieure. Dans le cadre de leur ambitieux plan d’aménagement paysager, ils ont planté plusieurs plantes indigènes entourées de sièges en pierre, d’un endroit pour observer la nature doté de mangeoires, et de sentiers menant aux forêts et zones humides de la région avoisinante. Ce projet a suscité la participation des membres du personnel, des élèves, des membres de leur famille, d’éducateurs autochtones et d’anciens de la communauté qui ont tous participé à l’ensemencement et à l’entretien du jardin. En créant des occasions d’apprentissage continu, ainsi que le jardin, le projet d’action a renforcé les liens au sein de la communauté en mettant en lumière les traditions et perspectives autochtones. Félicitations pour votre travail exceptionnel! 

Cliquez ici pour voir leur soumission au Projet Notre Canada

   

Mentions honorables:

École islamique de Fort McMurray 

Les élèves de l’École islamique de Fort McMurray, en ON, s’inquiétaient de la quantité de déchets découlant de l’utilisation de marqueurs pour les tableaux blancs. Ils ont déterminé qu’en lançant un Programme de marqueurs réutilisables à leur école, ils réduiraient grandement la quantité de décès produits, sans compter que l’école épargnerait de l’argent à long terme. Ils ont demandé une aide financière à la Ligue ÉcoloMC de LST afin d’effectuer des recherches et d’acheter leur première quantité de marqueurs et de cartouches. Les élèves ont renseigné leurs camarades sur l’importance et montré aux enseignés comment utiliser les cartouches rechargeables. Bravo!

Cliquez ici pour voir leur soumission au Projet Notre Canada 

Cliquez ici pour visionner la vidéo de leur projet d’action 

 

Anderson Collegiate Vocational Institute

Les élèves du Anderson Collegiate Vocational Institute, à Whitby, ON, voulaient sensibiliser leur entourage à la protection des pollinisateurs indigènes et prendre des mesures à cette fin. L’équipe d’action de cette école a donné un second souffle à la cour inutilisée et stérile de leur école en y semant des plantes sans pesticides et y installant des boîtes à essaims construites par les élèves de 9e année. Ils ont organisé une semaine de la sensibilisation, portant le thème To Bee or Not To Bee, pour mobiliser la communauté scolaire en lui proposant une gamme d’événements sociaux et éducatifs. Citons notamment un concours d’épellation ayant les pollinisateurs pour thème, la semence d’asclépiades  tubéreuses, un jeu de JeopardBEE et un tournoi de « bee-ball ». Grâce à ces efforts, le Anderson CVI a été nommé à titre de première « École apicole » officielle du Canada. Bravo pour votre excellent travail!

Cliquez ici pour voir leur soumission au Projet Notre Canada

Cliquez ici pour visionner la vidéo de leur projet d’action 

St. Mary's Academy

Les élèves de la St. Mary's Academy, à Winnipeg, MB, étaient déterminés à réduire la quantité de déchets produits par leur école. Pour ce faire, ils ont sonné la charge à l’utilisation d’assiettes biodégradables dans leur cafétéria. Après avoir effectué un sondage, ils ont déterminé que leurs camarades et leurs enseignants appuieraient l’utilisation de ces assiettes et seraient disposés à payer un peu plus pour leur lunch. En communiquant avec la cafétéria, les élèves ont acheté les assiettes et aidé le personnel à mettre en œuvre cette initiative. Ils ont convaincu la cafétéria, qui est gérée indépendamment de l’école, à continuer d’utiliser ses assiettes au cours des prochaines années et organisé plusieurs activités de sensibilisation, comme une journée de lunch sans déchet et un bulletin remue-méninges à l’extérieur de la cafétéria. Félicitations!

Cliquez ici pour voir leur soumission au Projet Notre Canada

 

Gagnants précédents

S'inscrire au bulletin

S'inscrire à un atelier de développement professionnel

Informations et ressources sur les sujets importants qui touchent notre monde d'aujourd'hui.