2018 Jack Layton Award for Youth Action in Sustainability

2017-2018 Results

The following seven schools have been recognized out of over 60 school action projects to receive the 2018 Learning for a Sustainable Future Jack Layton Award for Youth Action in Sustainability. Kortright Hills Public School was awarded first place, two schools were recognized as Runner-Ups and four schools was given an Honourable Mention. Check out the amazing and innovative projects these schools have done by reading the summaries below. Thank you to everyone who participated. All of your projects were outstanding, and we look forward to seeing your submissions next year!

Winner:

Kortright Hill Public School

The winning school this year is Kortright Hills Public School from Guelph, ON. Inspired after attending LSF’s EcoLeague Youth Forum, the Eco Leaders Club and the grade 6  "The Water Rockers" class (where students learn most of their subjects through the topic of water) challenged their school to try a vegan diet and to become waste-free. With the help of a graduate student from the University of Guelph they created a campaign to teach all of their junior and intermediate classes about vegan eating, what it looks like, and why some believe it’s a healthy idea for both people and the planet. Students organized the school’s first ever vegan bake sale and donated the proceeds to a local wildlife charity. To reduce waste at the school, they challenged their staff and students to have waste-free snacks and lunches every Wednesday and use reusable water bottles on a daily basis. They switched classroom garbage bags to smaller compostable bags; trained staff and students about appropriate sorting and weighed and graphed the school’s garbage and recorded it on the chart paper to show everyone their progress.

Kortright Hills students also engaged in a variety of water-related action projects including: researching local native and invasive species in their local watershed; partnering with a professional songwriter to write an original song about the Eramosa and Speed Rivers; organizing a school  assembly celebrating water; and creating a class blog about the Grand River watershed.

They also designed and planned a pollinator garden to achieve their goal of becoming a Bee School. Students planted native pollinator species and increased  awareness through an education campaign about pollinators, why they are important to our planet, why they are struggling, and how we can help them at both home and school. They organized a Bee Celebration Assembly and gathered a group of student to submit an application for the City of Guelph to become an official Bee City!

Click here to view their Our Canada Project post

Runners-Up:

Morinville Public School

Grade 7-9 students at Morinville Public School in Morinville, AB began their garden initiative with three hydroponic gardens that allow them to garden all year long! In order to inspire other students to grow their own food and have access to healthy produce, the students designed and planted an outdoor garden accessible to the entire community! Students planted corn, tomatoes, peppers and cucumbers. They did taste tests to see the difference between locally grown produce and what is sold in the stores. They got their peers excited about healthier eating and working together as a community for a common purpose. In the fall the produce will be donated to the local food bank. They hope that their outdoor garden will inspire other families to grow their own gardens with their children in the future!

Click here to view their Our Canada Project post


Raft River Elementary School

The grade 3 students of Raft River Elementary School in Clearwater, BC took on the task of building a pollinator garden at their school to provide homes to local pollinators and to increase the crop yield from their school vegetable garden. They undertook research on local pollinators, created a website, visited a real beehive and local plant nursery to gather insight about designing their garden. In addition to site selection, the students identified appropriate plants and landscaping materials to include in their garden. Students of all grades were involved in the project. Kindergarten students planted Zinnia plants and cosmos seeds in their garden. Grade 3 students will maintain the garden each year with the help of community members and parents. Grade 7 students will accompany the Grade 3 students to visit a neighbouring high school where their students will cut out wooden butterfly and bee. These will be painted by the grade 3 and attached to the fence around the pollinator garden by the grade 7's leaving a legacy for their elementary school before moving up to the high school.  In June each year, the school will host a picnic coinciding with the “Day of the Honeybee” to celebrate their pollinator garden.

Click here to view their Our Canada Project post

Honourable Mentions:

Ecole Elmlea Junior School

The Grade 3 students at Ecole Elmlea Junior School in Etobicoke,  ON had a busy school year! Their mission was to demonstrate stewardship as part of their learning program so that kids are given a chance to show how much they can contribute to positive social change. Students created their own kid-run company called the Kids’ Creative Co-op (KCC).  They hold a weekly in-school boutique, where they sell quality items for $5 or less! Their inventory comes from donations, kid-made crafts and carefully sourced items. When making crafts, they recycle and reuse items destined for landfills and turn them into beautiful, practical items. The students created a community garden and outdoor learning space at our school, which is entirely funded and maintained through KCC efforts, and which benefits the entire school. All of their vegetable harvests  are donated to the in-house foodbank. Students also fund a fresh food market at their school to raise awareness about food insecurity and inequity. In addition, the students also volunteer at the local food bank, women's shelter and church by preparing holiday gift bags, toiletry care bags and sorting food!

Click here to view their Our Canada Project post


Espanola High School

Students at Espanola High School in Espanola, ON wanted a green community...especially within their school grounds. To achieve this vision, students created their “CALMmon Space” out of an old unused courtyard. The CALMmon Space features a variety of different seating areas and gardens including an Indigenous herbal garden based on the medicine wheel, a vegetable garden, a pride tulip garden, and a variety of perennial and annual pollinators! Several classes took part in making the CALMmon Space a dream come true! Students in Mr. Stewart’s class brainstormed the "idea map", while the construction class researched different types of seats to build, deciding on a Pergola style. The science classes, along with the life skills planted seeds for a vegetable garden. The science, foods class and Mr. Stewart's classes have been running a compost program as well. The space can be used for a variety of activities such as Mental Health activities, including Yoga/healthy eating.

Click here to view their Our Canada Project post


Ridgecliff Middle School

On November 10, 2017, ten Student Leaders from Ridgecliff Middle School in Beechville, NS attended an Our Canada Project Youth Leadership Forum in Halifax. As a result of attending several sustainability workshops at the forum, the students decided to organize an Eco-Conference of their own called  “Waste Management and a Healthy Environment”. The students invited a keynote speaker from Halifax Regional Municipality who facilitated a skill building workshop focusing on “Waste Management and a Healthy Environment.” The conference addressed environmental issues by providing a framework for the proper way to reduce, reuse, and recycle.  A focus was on the two new recycling bins and the two new water filling stations that were installed at Ridgecliff. Following the presentation, students in the audience were actively engaged in a competition based on the “Family Feud” television show. The competition involved team members answering questions related to the knowledge that was gained from the presentation. The Student Leaders took on a leadership role throughout the entire project with the organization of the conference (needs assessment, implementation, and evaluation).

Click here to view their Our Canada Project post


Voice Integrative School

Grade 8 Students from Voice Integrative School in Toronto, ON investigated how road salt can cause detrimental effects to their local environment and the implications for human and animal health. They researched how using traditional road salt deteriorates roads and sidewalks.  They examined runoff, collected and tested water samples from the Don Valley River. Students compared these samples with tap water and discovered that there is an alarming amount of salt within the river. They conducted experiments using a natural alternative, beet juice and road salt to melt ice and concluded that the result were similar. They initiated an awareness raising campaign to educate community members about the benefits of beet juice and the negative effects of road salt. The students created a documentary that won Best Film at the Water Docs@School Action Projects Program.

View past winners: 

Newsletter Sign-up

Register for Professional Development

Information and resources on the important topics affecting our world today.

2018 Prix Jack Layton de la jeunesse pour le développement durable de LST

Résultats de 2017-2018 

Les sept écoles suivantes ont été sélectionnées parmi plus de 60 projets d’action scolaires afin de recevoir le Prix Jack Layton de la jeunesse pour le développement durable de LST.  L’école secondaire Kortright Hills a obtenu la première place, deux écoles se sont partagé le deuxième rang et quatre écoles ont mérité des mentions honorables. Prenez connaissance de leurs projets exceptionnels en lisant les sommaires figurant ci-dessous.  Merci à tous ceux qui ont participé à cette initiative! Vous avez réalisé des projets fantastiques!  Nous avons hâte de voir vos initiatives de l’an prochain! 

École gagnante :

École publique Kortright Hills 

Cette année, l’école gagnante est l’école publique Kortright Hills de Guelph, ON. Inspirés après avoir assisté au Forum Jeunesse de la Ligue Écolo de LST, le Eco Leaders Club et les « Water Rockers de la classe de 6e année  (où les élèves font la majorité de leur apprentissage pour toutes leurs matières par l’intermédiaire du sujet de l’eau) ont mis leur école au défi d’essayer un régime alimentaire végétalien et de devenir « sans déchet ». Avec l’aide d’étudiant du deuxième cycle de l’Université de Guelph, ils ont  créé une campagne pour renseigner toutes les classes sur l’alimentation végétalienne, ses composantes et les raisons pour lesquelles certains croient que c’est une idée saine pour les gens et la planète. Les élèves ont organisé la toute première vente de pâtisseries végétaliennes de l’école et fait don des produits à un œuvre de bienfaisance locale vouée à la protection de la nature. Pour réduire les déchets à l’école, ils ont lancé au personnel et aux élèves le défi d’apporter des collations et dîners sans déchet tous les mercredis et de se servir de bouteilles d’eau réutilisables chaque jour. Ils ont substitué des sacs compostables aux sacs à ordures. Ils ont aussi enseigné au personnel et aux élèves les façons de trier et de peser les ordures de l’école, puis ont créé un graphique pour montrer les progrès à tout le monde.

Les élèves de Kortright Hills ont aussi participé à divers projets liés à l’eau. Ils ont notamment effectué des recherches sur les espèces indigènes et envahissantes habitant leurs cours d’eau locaux, fait équipe avec un chansonnier pour composer une chanson originale au sujet des rivières Eramosa et Speed, organisé une assemblée scolaire pour célébrer l’eau et créé un blogue au sujet du bassin hydrographique de la rivière Grand. 

Par ailleurs, ils ont conçu et planifié un jardin à pollinisateurs pour atteindre leur objectif de désigner leur école comme étant favorable aux abeilles. Ils ont planté des espèces indigènes de pollinisateurs et sensibilisé leurs camardes à l’aide d’une campagne sur les pollinisateurs, leur importance pour la planète, les difficultés qu’ils éprouvent et les façons de les aider, à la maison comme à l’école. Ils ont organisé une assemblée pour célébrer les abeilles et réuni un groupe d’élève pour demander à la ville de Guelph de prendre des mesures pour devenir un Ville d’abeilles officielle! Félicitations pour vos réalisations et projets exceptionnels! Nous avons hâte de voir ce que vous nous réservez l’an prochain!

Cliquez ici pour voir leur soumission au Projet Notre Canada 

Deuxième place :

École publique Morinville 

Les élèves de 7e à 9e année de l’école publique Morinville, à Morinville, AB, ont entrepris leur projet en créant trois jardins hydroponiques pour être en mesure de faire du jardinage toute l’année! Afin d’inspirer les autres élèves à cultiver leur propre nourriture et à pouvoir  accéder à des fruits et légumes frais, les élèves ont conçu et planté un jardin extérieur accessible à toute la communauté! Les élèves ont planté du maïs, des tomates, des poivrons et des concombres. Ils ont organisé des tests de dégustation pour voir la différence entre les produits cultivés localement et ceux vendus en magasin. Ils ont suscité l’enthousiasme de leurs camarades à l’égard ‘une alimentation saine et des efforts collaboratifs visant un but commun. À l’automne, les fruits et légumes seront offerts en don à la banque de denrées locale. Les élèves espèrent que leur jardin inspirera d’autres familles à créer et entretenir un jardin avec leurs enfants! 

Cliquez ici pour voir leur soumission au Projet Notre Canada 


École élémentaire Raft River 

Les élèves de 3e année de l’école élémentaire Raft River, à Clearwater, C.-B., ont pris l’initiative de bâtir un jardin pour attirer les  pollinisateurs et accroître le rendement de leur potager. Ils ont entrepris des recherches sur les pollinisateurs locaux, créé un site Web, et visité un apiculteur et une pépinière locaux pour savoir comment concevoir leur jardin. Outre la sélection du site, les élèves ont choisi les plantes et le matériel à inclure dans leur jardin. Tous les niveaux scolaires ont participé à ce projet. Les élèves de la maternelle ont planté des Zinnias  et des graines de cosmos dans leur jardin. Ceux de la troisième année vont entretenir le jardin chaque année, avec l’aide de membres de la communauté et de parents. Ceux de la 7e année accompagneront les élèves de 3e année dans une école secondaire avoisinante, dont les élèves créeront des papillons et abeilles à bois. Les élèves de 3e année vont peindre ces décorations, que les élèves de 7e année vont installer sur la clôture du jardin, créant ainsi un legs avant de quitter leur école élémentaire.  En juin de chaque année, l’école prévoit organiser un pique-nique coïncidant avec la « Journée des abeilles à miel » afin de célébrer son jardin à pollinisateurs. 

Cliquez ici pour voir leur soumission au Projet Notre Canada 

Mentions honorables :

École élémentaire Elmlea 

Les élèves de 3e année de l’école élémentaire Elmlea à Etobicoke,  ON, ont eu une année chargée! Leur mission consiste à faire preuve d’intendance dans le cadre de leur programme d’apprentissage pour démontrer à leurs camarades à quel point ils peuvent contribuer à des changements sociaux positifs. Les élèves ont créé une entreprise appelée Kids’ Creative Co-op (KCC).  Ils ouvrent chaque semaine leur boutique dans l’école, où ils vendent des articles de qualité pour 5 $ ou moins. Leur inventaire provient de dons, d’articles d’artisanat et d’autres articles sélectionnés avec soin. Au moment de fabriquer des objets d’artisanat, ils utilisent des articles destinés aux sites d'enfouissement et les transforment en articles pratiques. Les élèves ont créé un jardin communautaire et un espace d’apprentissage extérieur, lequel est entièrement financé et entretenu à l’aide des produits de la KCC et qui profite à l’école entière. Tous les légumes récoltés sont offerts en don à la banque alimentaire de l’école. Ils organisent aussi un marché de produits frais à l’école pour sensibiliser leurs camarades à l’insécurité et inégalité alimentaire. De plus, les élèves font du bénévolat à la banque alimentaire, au refuge pour femmes et à l’église de leur localité en préparant des sacs cadeaux et des trousses d’articles de toilette et en triant les aliments! 

Cliquez ici pour voir leur soumission au Projet Notre Canada 


École secondaire Espanola 

Les élèves de l’école secondaire Espanola, à Espanola, ON, voulaient une communauté écolo, surtout à leur école. Pour réaliser ce rêve, ils ont créé l’espace « CALMmon Space » dans une cour inutilisée. Cet espace met en vedettes diverses places assises et des jardins où ils cultivent des herbes indigènes en fonction de la roue de médecin, un potager, un jardin de tulipes aux couleurs de la fierté et divers pollinisateurs annuels et vivaces! Plusieurs classes ont contribué à concrétiser ce rêve! Les élèves de la classe de M. Stewart ont conçu la « carte d’idées », alors que la classe de construction a effectué des recherches sur les divers types de sièges à bâtir, optant pour le style Pergola. La classe des sciences, conjointement avec celle des  compétences essentielles, ont planté les graines du potager. Les classes des sciences,  de l’alimentation et de  M. Stewart gèrent aussi un programme de compostage. L’espace peut être utilisé pour un éventail d’événements, comme des activités de santé mentale comme le yoga et l’alimentation saine. 

Cliquez ici pour voir leur soumission au Projet Notre Canada 


École intermédiaire Ridgecliff 

Le 10 novembre  2017, dix élèves de l’école intermédiaire Ridgecliff, à Beechville, N.-É. ont assisté au Forum Jeunesse Projet Notre Canada à Halifax. Après avoir assisté à plusieurs ateliers axés sur la viabilité écologique, les élèves ont décidé d’organiser leur propre éco-conférence intitulée « Gestion des déchets et environnement sain ». Les élèves ont invité un conférencier d’honneur de la municipalité régionale de Halifax, qui a animé un atelier d’acquisition des compétences s’articulant autour du thème de la conférence. Celle-ci s’est penchée sur des enjeux environnementaux en offrant un cadre sur les bonnes façons  de réduire, réutiliser et recycler, notamment sur les deux nouveaux bacs de recyclage et deux réservoirs d’eau qui ont été installés à l’école. Après la présentation, les élèves ont participé à un concours basé sur l’émission télévisée « Family Feud ». Les participants devaient répondre à des questions portant sur l’information apprise pendant la présentation.  Les élèves organisateurs ont joué un rôle de leadership en organisant la conférence du début à la fin (évaluation des besoins, mise en œuvre et évaluation). 

Cliquez ici pour voir leur soumission au Projet Notre Canada 


École Voice Integrative 

Les élèves de 8e année à l’école Voice Integrative, à Toronto, ON, ont fait enquête sur les effets potentiellement nocifs du sel de voirie sur leur environnement local et ses incidences pour la santé des êtres humains et des animaux. Ils ont examiné les façons dont le sel de voirie traditionnel détériore les routes et les trottoirs. Ils ont examiné le ruissellement,  et recueilli et testé des échantillons d’eau de la rivière Don. Les élèves ont comparé ces échantillons avec l’eau du robinet et découvert que la rivière contient un niveau alarmant de sel. Ils ont effectué des expériences à l’aide d’une solution de rechange naturelle, soit le jus de betterave, du sel de voirie pour fondre la glace et conclu qu’ils obtenaient des résultats comparables. Ils ont lancé une campagne pour sensibiliser la communauté aux avantages du jus de betterave et aux effets négatifs du sel de voirie. Ils ont réalisé un documentaire qui a remporté le prix du Meilleur film dans le cadre du programme Water Docs@School.

Gagnants précédents : 

S'inscrire au bulletin

S'inscrire à un atelier de développement professionnel

Informations et ressources sur les sujets importants qui touchent notre monde d'aujourd'hui.