Dr. David V.J. Bell Memorial Lecture

Learning for a Sustainable Future and York University invite you to join us on Wednesday, September 26, 2018 for the inaugural Dr. David V.J. Bell Memorial Lecture. 

Dr. David V.J. Bell became a member of LSF in 1995, became Chair of the Board of Directors in 2006, and was an integral part of our organization for over 22 years. His passion, commitment and dedication to sustainability and education left a permanent imprint on policy makers, educators and youth across Canada and internationally. Dr. Bell's impact on LSF has been invaluable, and his leadership and countless contributions were recognized through numerous awards including: the Green Toronto Award for Leadership in Sustainability, the EECOM Award, the Harry Jerome Award, 2017 Clean50 Award, and the Jackie Robinson Fortitude Award. 

The Annual Dr. David V.J. Bell Lecture is intended to help bridge the gap between research and what is practiced in educational institutions by identifying Canadian thought leaders to share their research and insights on education for sustainable development as it applies to education policy, teacher education and practice, and student empowerment.

The 2018 lecture will be held at York University in the Founders Assembly Hall and will feature keynote speaker The Honourable Elizabeth Dowdeswell, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario who will be speaking about the role of education in implementing the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).
Her Honour is an Honourary Patron of Learning for a Sustainable Future and has dedicated a great deal of her career as a public servant to environmental stewardship and to advancing the SDG goals as set forth by the United Nations.

Please click the link below to register (view invitation)


Please note that registration is free of charge. Should you wish to make a donation in honour of Dr. Bell's memory please visit: 

Newsletter Sign-up

Register for Professional Development

Information and resources on the important topics affecting our world today.

La Conférence commémorative Dr. David V.J. Bell

L’éducation au service de la Terre et l’Université York vous convient à la Conférence commémorative Dr David V.J. Bell le mercredi 26 septembre 2018

Dr David V.J. Bell était membre de LST depuis 1995 et est devenu président de son conseil en 2006. Il faisait partie intégrante de notre organisation pendant plus de 22 ans. Sa passion, son engagement et son dévouement à l’égard du développement durable ont laissé une marque indélébile sur les décisionnaires, les éducateurs et les jeunes du Canada et du reste du monde. Dr Bell a laissé un impact inestimable sur LST, et son leadership et ses innombrables contributions lui ont mérité de nombreux prix, y compris le Green Toronto Award for Leadership in Sustainability, le Prix de l’EECOM, le Harry Jerome Award, le Clean50 Award de 2017 et le Jackie Robinson Fortitude Award.

La Conférence Dr David V.J. Bell annuelle à vise à combler l’écart entre les recherches et la pratique dans les établissements d’enseignement en désignant des leaders éclairés du Canada pour partager leurs conclusions sur  l’éducation au développement durable et son lien avec les politiques d’éducation, la formation et le travail des enseignants et l’autonomisation des élèves.

La conférence de 2018 se tiendra dans la salle Founders Assembly Hall de l’Université York et mettra en vedette l’honorable Elizabeth Dowdeswell, lieutenante-gouverneure de l’Ontario, qui prononcera un discours liminaire sur le rôle de l’éducation dans la mise en œuvre  des objectifs de développement durable (ODD).

Veuillez cliquer sur le lien ci-dessous pour vous inscrire (l’invitation) 


Veuillez noter que l’inscription est gratuite. Si vous désirez verser un don en l’honneur de Dr Bell, veuillez visiter le site : 

S'inscrire au bulletin

S'inscrire à un atelier de développement professionnel

Informations et ressources sur les sujets importants qui touchent notre monde d'aujourd'hui.