Protecting our Sacred Water

jgi_aa_logojgi_trico_logo

Learning for a Sustainable Future's education programs aim to promote responsible citizenship; children and youth who understand the interconnectedness of the environment, society and the economy and have the knowledge, skills, values and perspectives to take ethical and sustainable action on community issues. LSF promotes informed and compassionate action and recognizes the importance of local and indigenous knowledge in the development and implementation of community projects.

The Guide

Together with our partner organization, the Jane Goodall Institute of Canada, and a group of First Nation and Métis Elders and educators, the LSF has created a guide called “Protecting our Sacred Water.”

Protecting our Sacred Water helps educators and youth program facilitators bring education for sustainable development to their students/youth in a transformative way through action projects. The guide provides tools for teachers to help youth choose a project topic and how to carry it out through the integration of FNMI ways of knowing. It is important that Aboriginal youth; Canada’s fastest growing and most marginalized population, see themselves as leaders in creating change. When youth are meaningfully engaged throughout the entire process, they are more likely to make positive changes for themselves and their community.

Download the Guide.

Curriculum connections

This guide helps students to achieve learning outcomes of curriculum across Canada. It is not something ‘extra’. Students learn ‘through’ the development and implementation of their action projects, rather than ‘about’ action.

Funding to support action projects initiated and completed by students is available through LSF's EcoLeague program.  The deadline to apply for the 2013-2014 year has now passed.

Download Curriculum Connections.

Project Partner

The Jane Goodall Institute of Canada (JGI) supports wildlife research, education and conservation. The Institute promotes informed and compassionate action to improve the environment, which is shared by all Earth's living creatures, and recognizes the importance of local and Indigenous knowledge in the development and implementation of development projects.

JGI's education programs all around the world aim to promote sustainable citizenship; children and youth who understand the interconnectedness of the environment, society and the economy and have the skills, values and knowledge to take ethical and sustainable action on community development and conservation issues. JGI achieves this by providing professional development, resources and support to educators. Please visit www.janegoodall.ca/

Why focus on water?
  • Many FNMI communities and other communities in Canada are faced with water issues every day, including no access to potable water.
  • Water is sacred.
  • Less than 1% of all water on Earth is “usable” fresh water.
  • Almost every living organism relies upon water for survival.
  • Our bodies are 66% water and require water to live.
  • We play in water.
  • Many modern manufacturing processes rely upon water.
  • Our food requires water to grow.

Despite all of this, we are not being careful with this sacred resource.

Water and Creation stories

Story telling is integral to Aboriginal ways of knowing. Protecting our Sacred Water includes a couple of traditional stories from both Canadian and Uganda indigenous groups. We would like to grow a bank of Creation and water stories for educators and program facilitators to access. Please share with us a meaningful Creation or water story from your community.

Newsletter Sign-up

Register for Professional Development

Information and resources on the important topics affecting our world today.

Protection de notre eau sacrée

jgi_aa_logojgi_trico_logo

Les programmes d’éducation de L’éducation au service de la Terre (LST) visent à promouvoir la citoyenneté responsable, soit à aider les enfants et les jeunes à comprendre le lien entre l’environnement, la société et l’économie et à acquérir les connaissances, les aptitudes et les valeurs nécessaires pour prendre des mesures éthiques et durables afin d’aborder des enjeux communautaires. LST prônent la prise de mesures éclairées et empreintes de compassion et reconnaît l’importance des connaissances locales et indigènes pour le développement et la mise en œuvre de projets communautaires.

LE GUIDE

De concert avec notre organisation partenaire, le Jane Goodall Institute of Canada, et avec un groupe d’Aînés et d’éducateurs des Premières nations et des peuples métis, LST a créé un guide intitulé Protection de notre eau sacrée.

Ce guide aide les éducateurs et les animateurs de programmes destinés aux jeunes à présenter à leurs élèves l’éducation au développement durable d’une façon transformatrice par le biais de projets d’actions. Les enseignants trouveront dans ce guide des outils pour aider les jeunes à choisir un projet et aux façons de le mener à bien en tenant compte des systèmes de connaissances des Premières nations, des Métis et des Inuits (PNMI). C’est important pour les jeunes autochtones – groupe qui connaît la croissance la plus rapide au Canada, mais qui est aussi le plus marginalisé, de se considérer comme des leaders qui peuvent amener le changement. Lorsque les jeunes participent activement au processus du début à la fin, ils sont plus susceptibles d’apporter des changements positifs pour eux-mêmes et leur communauté.

Cliquez ici pour télécharger le Guide « Protection de notre eau sacrée »

LIENS AVEC LE CURRICULUM

Ce guide aide les élèves à atteindre les résultats d’apprentissage liés au curriculum du Canada. Il ne s’agit pas d’une composante additionnelle. Les élèves apprennent en développant et mettant en œuvre leurs propres projets d’actions, non en entendant parler de ces projets.

Télécharger les liens avec le curriculum.

PARTENAIRE DE PROJET

The Jane Goodall Institute of Canada (JGI) appuie les recherches, l’éducation et la conservation sur la faune. Il favorise la mise en œuvre de projets éclairés et empreints de compassion pour améliorer l’environnement, que se partagent tous les êtres vivants de la Terre. Il reconnaît également l’importance des connaissances locales et indigènes dans la mise en œuvre et le développement de ces projets.

Les programmes d’éducation de JGI partout dans le monde visent à favoriser la citoyenneté responsable, soit à aider les jeunes à comprendre le lien entre l’environnement, la société et l’économie et à acquérir les compétences, les valeurs et les connaissances nécessaires pour prendre des mesures éthiques et durables à l’égard des enjeux de développement communautaire et de conservation. JGI y parvient en fournissant une formation professionnelle, des ressources et un soutien aux éducateurs. Visitez www.janegoodall.ca/

POURQUOI SE CONCENTRER SUR L’EAU?

  • Bon nombre des communautés PNMI et autres du Canada sont confrontées chaque jour à des enjeux liés à l’eau, y compris l’incapacité d’accéder à de l’eau potable.
  • L’eau est sacrée.
  • Moins de 1% de toute l’eau de la Terre est de l’eau douce « utilisable ».
  • Presque tous les organismes vivants dépendent de l’eau pour leur survie.
  • Nos corps se composent d’eau à 66 % et ont besoin d’eau pour vivre.
  • Nous jouons dans l’eau.
  • De nombreux processus manufacturiers contemporains dépendent de l’eau.
  • Notre nourriture a besoin d’eau pour sa croissance.

 Malgré tout, nous ne prenons pas soin de cette ressource sacrée.

RÉCITS SUR L’EAU ET LA CRÉATION

Les histoires font partie intégrante des systèmes de connaissance autochtones. Le guide Protection de notre eau sacrée renferme une couple d’histoires traditionnelles de groupes indigènes du Canada et de l’Ouganda. Nous aimerions créer une banque d’histoires sur la création et sur l’eau à l’intention des éducateurs et des animateurs de programmes. Nous vous invitons à nous faire part d’une histoire marquante pour votre communauté sur ces sujets.

S'inscrire au bulletin

S'inscrire à un atelier de développement professionnel

Informations et ressources sur les sujets importants qui touchent notre monde d'aujourd'hui.