LSF's Sustainable Future Schools

Learning for a Sustainable Future (LSF), with support from 3M Canada, has launched the Sustainable Future School (SFS) Program. SFS is a whole school approach that utilizes the UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) as a context to address teaching and learning, partnerships, facilities and operations, and decision-making in Canadian schools.  

What are the SDGs?


In 2015, 193 world governments joined together through the United Nations to commit to an ambitious vision for a safer, healthier, and more prosperous world by 2030. The UN 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) weave together economic, social, and environmental dimensions and are organized into the  “5 Ps that shape the Sustainable Development Goals ( SDGs): Planet, People, Prosperity, Peace, and Partnerships” . The 5 Ps highlight how the SDGs are an intertwined framework instead of a group of siloed goals. Progress on one P must balance and support progress on another. Canada has agreed to report on the implementation of the 17 goals. 

Why Sustainable Future Schools? 

LSF has been working since 1991 to promote, through education, the knowledge, skills, values, perspectives and practices essential to a sustainable Future.  Our aim, since the beginning, is to work collaboratively to integrate the concepts and principles of Sustainable Development into policy, school curricula and practices, professional development and lifelong learning across Canada.

The Sustainable Future Schools program provides a framework for schools to design their own path for advancing the SDGs in a holistic way. It is not set out as a prescribed journey but rather a framework and set of planning tools that utilize the SDGs as a lens through which to address what is taught, practiced, considered, acted upon, and measured throughout the school.

LSF is piloting the SFS program in Belfountain Public School in Caledon, ON this year and will expand the program to other schools next year.

Learn more about the Sustainable Future Schools Program here.

Supported by: 

Newsletter Sign-up

Register for Professional Development

Information and resources on the important topics affecting our world today.

École Pour Un Avenir Durable

L’éducation au service de la Terre, avec l’appui de 3M Canada, a lancé le programme Écoles pour un avenir durable (EAD). Reposant sur une démarche scolaire globale, ce programme utilise les objectifs de développement durable (ODD) des Nations-Unis comme cadres pour aborder la prise de décisions entourant l’enseignement, l’apprentissage, les partenariats, les installations et l’exploitation dans les écoles canadiennes  

Que sont les ODD?


En 2015, 193 gouvernements mondiaux ont uni leurs forces, par l’intermédiaire des Nations-Unies, afin de s’engager envers une vision ambitieuse pour la création d’un monde plus sûr, sain et prospère d’ici 2030. Les 17 objectifs de développement durable des Nations-Unies relient des dimensions économiques, sociales et environnementales et les organisent autour des .  “« 5 piliers : Planète, Peuples, Prospérité, Paix et Partenariats »” . Ces 5 piliers démontrent que les ODD s’entrecroisent, plutôt que de représenter des objectifs isolés. Les progrès réalisés à l’égard de l’un des piliers ne doivent pas neutraliser ceux accomplis pour un autre. Le Canada a accepté de produire des rapports sur la mise en œuvre des 17 objectifs. 

Pourquoi créer des écoles pour un avenir durable?  

LST s’affaire depuis 1991 à promouvoir, par l’éducation, les connaissances, les aptitudes, les valeurs, les perspectives et les pratiques essentielles à un avenir durable. Notre objectif, depuis le début, consiste à collaborer pour intégrer les notions et les principes du développement durable aux politiques, aux curriculums, aux pratiques, aux initiatives de perfectionnement professionnel et aux programmes de formation permanente.

Le programme Écoles pour un avenir durable offre aux écoles un cadre leur permettant de tracer leur propre parcours pour intégrer les ODD d’une façon holistique. Il ne représente pas un trajet prescrit, mais plutôt un ensemble d’outils les aidant à déterminer , de l’angle des ODD, ce qui est enseigné, pratiqué, considéré, mis en œuvre et mesuré dans l’école.

Cette année, LST mettra à l’essai le programme EAD dans l’école publique Belfountain à Caledon, en ON, et l’offrira dans d’autres écoles l’an prochain.

Le programme Écoles pour un avenir durable bénéficie de l’appui de  

S'inscrire au bulletin

S'inscrire à un atelier de développement professionnel

Informations et ressources sur les sujets importants qui touchent notre monde d'aujourd'hui.